To be able to remotely locate, block, lock or wipe your Xperia device, you have to register with a device management service, and activate the phone or tablet in this service before you lose the device.
You can take one of the following measures of precaution to safeguard your Xperia device and its contents if it’s lost or stolen:
- Sign up with Google's Find my device service.
- If your Xperia device is part of the IT environment of a business or organization, check with the IT administrator or IT department whether your device already is protected via a Mobile Device Management (MDM) solution.
- Install a third-party MDM app from Google Play (Play Store). For example, several virus protection or security apps have anti-theft, remote locate and device lock features.
- Use your device’s IMEI (International Mobile Equipment Identity) number to block the device.
Note:
- Depending on the app version, Find My Device may have been renamed to Find Hub.
- To use Find My Device, your device must be turned on, have an internet connection and have the location service activated.
- Find My Device service may not be available in all countries or regions.
If you have a Google account, the Find My Device web service can help you locate and secure your device if you ever lose it. You can:
- Remotely locate the device on a map.
- Sound an alert (even if the device is in silent mode) to find the device nearby, or to get someone's attention.
- Remotely lock the device.
- Make the device display your contact information to anyone who finds it.
- Remotely clear the internal and external memory (SD card) of the device, as a last resort.
Enabling the my Find My Device
Note: Xperia devices running Android 5.0 or higher have a security feature which locks the device if you try to remotely lock or erase a device using the Find My Device service. It is of utmost importance that you remember your credentials for the Google account that you used when you activated the Find My Device service. If you don't remember your Google account credentials, you cannot reactivate the device yourself.
Tip: If you do not remember your Google account name or password, you can recover them using the Google Account Recovery page at https://www.google.com/accounts/recovery/. If you still can't reactivate your device, contact us.
Android 17 or higher
To activate Find Hub
- Find and tap Settings → Security and privacy → Lost device protection → Find Hub → Allow device to be located.
- If you are activating the service for the first time, mark the checkbox to agree with the terms and conditions of using it, then tap Accept.
Android 10 to Android 16
To activate Find My Device
- Find and tap Settings → Security → Find My Device/ Find Hub.
- If you are activating the service for the first time, mark the checkbox to agree with the terms and conditions of using it, then tap Accept.
Note:
- To verify that Find My Device can locate your device after you activate the service, go to google.com/android/find and sign in using the Google account that you have set up on your device.
- If you are using a device with multiple users, note that Find My Device is only available to the user who is logged in as the owner.
Android 8.0 or 9
To activate Find My Device
- Find and tap Settings → Lock screen & security → Find My Device.
- If you are activating the service for the first time, mark the checkbox to agree with the terms and conditions of using it, then tap Accept.
Note:
- To verify that Find My Device can locate your device after you activate the service, go to google.com/android/find and sign in using the Google account that you have set up on your device.
- If you are using a device with multiple users, note that Find My Device is only available to the user who is logged in as the owner.
Android 7.0 or lower
Locating, locking or erasing your device
To locate, lock or erase your device using Find My Device
- Go to google.com/android/find from any Internet-connected device.
- Sign in using the same Google account that you have set up on your device.
- Select Locate to locate your device on a map.
- Select Sound alert to sound an alert to find the device nearby, or to get someone's attention.
- Select Lock to lock the device.
- Select Erase to erase the content on the device including the content on the external memory card (SD card).
Note: Please refer to the link for the trademark information.