S$ 3,799.00

(inclusive of GST)
9

4.7 based on 9 customer reviews

7
1
1
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9 Customer Reviews

0

Sharp lens with great macro capability

SEL100400GM SYX 07 September 2020 by Ar 4s2 3d6 Man Verified Purchaser Verified

Parts that could improve is having a 0-3 m option in the focusing distance selector for better control of macro shots. Sometimes it would back focus when trying to focus on an object up close. (My object is further away than the min. focusing distance) And also perhaps price? Besides the 4.5-5.6 aperture, I'm actually not sure why it is a GM lens. No 'special' elements were used such as flourite or XA element, compared to the Canon 100-400L IS II. It is basically similar to the Sony 200-600mm in terms of build, features and elements used. Lastly, I'm pretty sure many people would prefer a 'lock' instead of a 'smooth-tight' ring. Even on tight, the lens barrel tends to creep out when the lens is slung onto your shoulder, when walking. Besides that, the lens is sharp and focuses fast. Animal AF is good, except it doesn't work very well when having the sky as your background. I guess that's not avoidable due to contrast issues? Oh wells. Generally it is a great lens, although the price compared to its Canon counterpart can be abit... questionable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

FE 100-400mm GM : expensive but underwhelming

SEL100400GM SYX 13 August 2020 by Nathanshutterbug Verified Purchaser Verified

I had initially decided to buy the new Sigma 100-400 for E mount but changed my mind and bought the Sony FE 100-400 GM as I had seen a lot of great reviews about this lens online. I am using this lens with a Alpha 7Riii So far i have been disappointed with the picture quality and the pictures are much less sharper than I used to get from my old FE 70-200 F4. The focus speeds are not that great either and the lens struggles to autofocus on moving targets. At S$ 3,300/- approx. this is not a good value buy and i dont think other photographers should pick this over cheaper 3rd party lenses. Another feature which is a pain is the lens slippage which happens while carrying the lens.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great feature and very sharp lens

SEL100400GM SYX 20 July 2020 by Henry73 Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this lens 2 months ago, it is great and sharp the forcing is very fast.

0

0

0

Review of Sony 100-400mm len with Sony A73.

SEL100400GM SYX 18 January 2020 by LAWRENCE AU Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the Sony 100-400mm len a month ago and happy with the image quality coupled with the Sony A73 camera's capabilities for fast tracking at all time, while I shot flying swans in winter Xinjiang, China.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ticks all the boxes

SEL100400GM SYX 21 August 2019 by tntrue Verified Purchaser Verified

Bitingly sharp across the frame, even at 400mm, where it counts most. Surprisingly contrasty for a zoom. No discernible loss of sharpness when used with the SEL14TC and retains contrast amazingly well for a zoom paired with a teleconverter. Acquires focus quickly and, when using Real Time Tracking, maintains critically accurate focus on a moving subject. A bonus is that it's equally good at minimum focus distance.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The Best in it's class, The SEL100400 G Master

SEL100400GM SYX 18 July 2019 by RC86 Verified Purchaser Verified

Rented this lens once and I was throughly impressed by what it could capture! That reach at 400mm was amazing and you can ALWAYS count on a G Master lens to give you that beautiful sharpness and clarity! If you are in the market for a long range FE lens, you can always rent one from Sony first and experience the quality of the lens and Trust me, you will get hooked :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fast Autofocus

SEL100400GM SYX 13 May 2019 by Ycpaul Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought the 100 400 mm G master len about a month ago . I like the Autofocus is fast and sharp. Pls noted that the Photo is not being edit by Photo Shop .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Very sharp lens!

SEL100400GM SYX 28 February 2019 by tnjx Verified Purchaser Verified

Photos shot using this lens is extremely sharp. Great value for money!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Quality for the Price

SEL100400GM SYX 07 November 2018 by kiabohe Verified Purchaser Verified

Great optics and allows a great focal range of possibilities and flexibility from 100mm-400mm (140mm-560mm with 1.4x TC / 210mm-840mm with 1.4x TC and crop mode) for a full frame A7 series or A9 camera. It is sharp sharp sharp and fast focusing. Though it is not as fast a lens rendering the smoothest of bokeh, it is a great option for birding and sports. If regularly using the 40mm focal length of the lens, it is important to get proper long lens support combination of tripod and lens support.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0