S$ 2,299.00

(inclusive of GST)
24

4.0 based on 24 customer reviews

9
10
2
2
1
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Needs the DTS Update and Rear Speaker Capability

HT-ST5000//MSP1 18 July 2017 by DHB117 Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this almost two weeks ago and while I don't have a case of buyer's remorse (yet), I hope some improvements can be made. One issue is that the 7.1.2 does not have DTS capability. I'm told that it will be added as an upgrade to new and existing units later this year, but I would like to know that this is a certainty and when the upgrade is scheduled to occur. Also, it would be a much better product if it had the capability of adding wireless rear speakers to the unit. While the sound is excellent, the upfiring speakers at the ends of the unit don't quite do the job of bouncing sound to the rear of the listener. The ability to add rear wireless speakers would go a long way in addressing this problem. I am generally pleased with the 7.1.2, even though the price tag was quite hefty. Please advise if the above mentioned improvements can and will be made.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

30

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sony ST5000 runs HOT

HT-ST5000//MSP1 07 September 2018 by Victor T Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought from Best Denki. Delivered 2 days later. after setup, updated firmware. First imprrssions, soundbar was hot to touch (above 70 degrees celcius). tested base. lots of distortion and cackling. recorded distortion and best denki arranged for 1 to 1 exchange. 2nd bar arrived a week later. no distortion on 1st day but bar still ran equally hot. 2nd day, bass was cackling like the first soundbar. called best, they said they will get sony tech person to check. no news after 1 week. returned the set and upgraded to samsung hw n950. final tots: sounds great if u can get it to work.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

24 Customer Reviews

0

Sony HT-ST5000

HT-ST5000//MSP1 26 September 2020 by Weizh Verified Purchaser Verified

Overall the sound quality is good and acceptable. However, you will need to turn it up to very high volume to be enveloped with the sound. For movies, the sound are quite messy it is quite hard to graps the detail. However, the bass and the woofer are solid. Verdict, the soundbar cannot stand side by side an AV Receiver, but it surely enjoyable if you don't mind detail.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

HT-ST5000 - Sound was not as good as it is said

HT-ST5000//MSP1 15 July 2020 by Francis Neo Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product a month ago from Courts after comparing it with the Samsung HW-Q90R. All Youtube review puts both product on par and I choose to buy this HT-ST5000 unit as I also have the HT-Z9F sitting in my living room. The sound was a massive disappointment; even at volume 40 (out of a maximum of 50), it sounded so soft, voice not really clear (even up 2 with voice feature), background sound like door closing, background music really soft . The same movie watch over the HT-Z9F at volume of 30 sounds much better. I don't know what is wrong with this unit really. Maybe it has defects but I do not know but it is definitely a major disappointment. I probably will not buy anymore soundbar from Sony based on this experience. If Sony is really keen to understand my feelings, perhaps a call to me will help.

0

1

0

Great all-around Atmos soundbar

HT-ST5000//MSP1 12 April 2020 by Swanton Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this recently first to hook up to the television for Atmos effects on movies. While waiting to get a proper set of active stereo bookshelves, I hooked it up to the record player as well, and the sonically it blew me away even with music. Truly an amazing all-rounder.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great replacement for components based home theatr

HT-ST5000//MSP1 18 February 2020 by babychin Verified Purchaser Verified

From components based home theatre with AVR, speakers and cables running all over your living room, I replaced all of them with another competitor’s wifi based wireless speakers. Alas, these speakers did not have the “impact” when you watch movies as its bass was only so-so. Jo support for Atmos & DTS. After one year, I replaced it with Sony. Boy, just realised the bass I was missing! Could do better with add-on surround speakers to enhance the rear-fill.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Voice or vocal is soft

HT-ST5000//MSP1 29 January 2020 by enquirelim Verified Purchaser Verified

Is there a way to adjust the Center channel for louder voice or vocal

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony 7.1.2 Soundbar Thunders!

HT-ST5000//MSP1 21 January 2020 by Chia Chia Chia Verified Purchaser Verified

Love it! Enjoying it! Solid Sub Woofer! Family favourite mode is the 3D Sound selection.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant Soundbar

HT-ST5000//MSP1 18 January 2020 by dbak Verified Purchaser Verified

Absolutely brilliant Soundbar that handles multiple formats with ease. Wireless streaming, hi def music, Dolby Atmos. Comes with wireless subwoofer for ease of placement.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Subwoofer occasionally cracking sound

HT-ST5000//MSP1 08 January 2020 by Simon lyc Verified Purchaser Verified

Subwoofer occasionally produce cracking sound otherwise this is an excellent product from a soundbar I ever heard thus far. Hopefully there will be a firmware update in near future to eliminate the subwoofer issue.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent Sound but Have Wifi-Interference

HT-ST5000//MSP1 07 July 2019 by Patclay Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this set in June 2019. It sounded great when I first connected, however after 15 mins, I could hear intermittent “pop” sound from the subwoofer. I tried to shut down and turned the soundbar on and off a few times but the “pop” sound was still audible. In the end I called Sony to bring the set back for repair. Days later Sony replied the fault was due to interference from my home wifi device, and Sony suggested I shift my subwoofer to different locations in my home to identify the best placement. I found the reply ridiculous because almost all household are equipped with wifi devices nowadays, and being a set that is in the market for less than 3 years old, the R&D of Sony should have anticipated this problem. Nevertheless I tried putting my subwoofer as far I could at a corner of the living room, and for this one week, the “pop” sound issue did not surface, and I hope to keep it this way. Apart from the “pop” issue, the ST5000 is actually a superb soundbar with powerful bass and clear midrange audio. I mostly listen to vocal music and I was amazed how engaging the sound is by playing music contents from YouTube. I was using the manual settings to set the distance between the soundbar and subwoofer to my sofa for optimal listening experience, and I am quite satisfied with the performance. I would recommend if you do not have the luxury or space of adding a surround speakers at the back of your sitting position. If there are no wifi interference issues, then this would be one of the best soundbar to get,m.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Looks good and feel good

HT-ST5000//MSP1 28 June 2019 by LauTer Verified Purchaser Verified

I tried a few different brands with about the same price range and finally decided on Sony as it looks pleasing aesthetically and sound quality is very good too.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Soundbar

HT-ST5000//MSP1 28 April 2019  Verified Purchaser Verified

Great Sound,get hot if use after 1 hour, turns on and off the system is slow,I hope next firmware update auto sound,wireless surround to add rear surround speakers like ZR5

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A Well Thought Out Product!

HT-ST5000//MSP1 26 March 2019 by SeismicVerse10 Verified Purchaser Verified

I am not a big fan when it comes to sound bars. After listening to several premium and not so premium soundbars, I think Sony has managed to pull it off with HT-ST5000. Depending on the content and soundbar placement where your tv should not block your up firing atmos speakers, the frontal atmos effect is convincing, exciting at times. Ready Player One, the chapter 2 race scene is a great example of this! Front speaker effects are clear and detailed! Sheer Seismic power of the subwoofer, not a boombox though, articulates precisely to the requirement of the sound recording. Very agile and versatile indeed. Having said that, future iterations could improve the mid range bass of the coaxial drivers and add 4 or 5 hdmi inputs. There is still room for improvement in the TV audio and musical stereo. Dialogue and vocal should sound louder where I feel is a little to the soft side even though u can increase 2 notches up. Options to tune left, centre and right speakers would be wonderful! I would definitely welcome the addition of treble/bass tuning options in the next firmware update which I hope happens soon with the option to add rear atmos/normal surround speakers just like the Sony Z9F. The last missing piece/link to this already fantastic product is definitely the option to add rear channels which I believe Sony will be able to do so very soon. This soundbar is the perfect solution for home theater enthusiasts who just dun have the space or room size for a dedicated full range discrete Atmos or DTS X system for now.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

0

0

Great sound

HT-ST5000//MSP1 26 February 2019 by Martin64 Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought it one month ago and the performance is excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony ST5000 Atmos soundbar

HT-ST5000//MSP1 10 December 2018  Verified Purchaser Verified

The soundbar produces sound that is clear and accurate. Very good for movies as well as music. The biggest flaw is the subwoofer. Connection to the main soundbar is very bad. The subwoofer has severe popping and cracking sound and Sony does not have solutions to fix this connection issue. None of the recommendations from Sony works.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Sound

HT-ST5000//MSP1 12 November 2018 by cheve36 Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent sound and ambience, great for watching movies. Brings great atmosphere to any movie or music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Sound

HT-ST5000//MSP1 02 October 2018 by Kevin Loy Verified Purchaser Verified

Bot this 3 weeks ago. The soundbar cab handle all kinds of music extremely well. The mids and high are very clear and the bass is strong, punchy and fantastic. For movies, it is very good too. The only issue is that it desperately need wireless rear surround speakers for movies to have the complete surround sound. I hope sony will do sth about this asap coz a lot of people have the same comments. If it.can be connected to rear speakers, I think it would be top of the line, qbest of the best soundbar.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound Respond

HT-ST5000//MSP1 17 September 2018 by beng hua Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound respond might get hot if use for long hour

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony ST5000 runs HOT

HT-ST5000//MSP1 07 September 2018 by Victor T Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought from Best Denki. Delivered 2 days later. after setup, updated firmware. First imprrssions, soundbar was hot to touch (above 70 degrees celcius). tested base. lots of distortion and cackling. recorded distortion and best denki arranged for 1 to 1 exchange. 2nd bar arrived a week later. no distortion on 1st day but bar still ran equally hot. 2nd day, bass was cackling like the first soundbar. called best, they said they will get sony tech person to check. no news after 1 week. returned the set and upgraded to samsung hw n950. final tots: sounds great if u can get it to work.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Sound System

HT-ST5000//MSP1 21 August 2018 by coyee Verified Purchaser Verified

Great soundbar sound system with all feature easy setting

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Wonderful!

HT-ST5000//MSP1 11 May 2018 by Julian T Verified Purchaser Verified

Epic sound quality and excellent design but its abit pricey.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound Quality and Ease of use

HT-ST5000//MSP1 21 January 2018 by ChingParty Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this sound system for a week and really love it. The setup was easy. I watched a movie with the system and the sound was excellent. The design and build was excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Product

HT-ST5000//MSP1 21 January 2018 by Sunblock Verified Purchaser Verified

The product is easy to setup to a person who has the knowledge of connecting equipment with HDMI ARC feature. However, it will cause some struggle to a person who is installing it the first time using ARC because the manual is not detailed enough as what to avoid especially if they are other vendor devices to connect to using the HDMI ports at the ST5000 Sound Bar. Another feature is to have the ability to display the audio format during play ie TrueHD, Atmos, etc. and hope future firmware upgrade can implement this feature. That is the reason why 4-star is given for the features category.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

VERY SIMPLE FEATURE AND NICE

HT-ST5000//MSP1 06 January 2018 by Jackmarobam Verified Purchaser Verified

Just two week ago. This is my first time bought the Sound bar. so far can be acceptable.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Needs the DTS Update and Rear Speaker Capability

HT-ST5000//MSP1 18 July 2017 by DHB117 Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this almost two weeks ago and while I don't have a case of buyer's remorse (yet), I hope some improvements can be made. One issue is that the 7.1.2 does not have DTS capability. I'm told that it will be added as an upgrade to new and existing units later this year, but I would like to know that this is a certainty and when the upgrade is scheduled to occur. Also, it would be a much better product if it had the capability of adding wireless rear speakers to the unit. While the sound is excellent, the upfiring speakers at the ends of the unit don't quite do the job of bouncing sound to the rear of the listener. The ability to add rear wireless speakers would go a long way in addressing this problem. I am generally pleased with the 7.1.2, even though the price tag was quite hefty. Please advise if the above mentioned improvements can and will be made.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

30

0

Response From Sony Singapore
28 December 2017

Dear DHB117,

We’re pleased to inform you that the firmware upgrade & instructions on how to enable DTS:X capability for HT-ST5000 are available here: http://smarturl.it/htst5000firmware.