S$ 2,299.00

(inclusive of GST)
307

3.8 based on 307 customer reviews

130
84
36
26
31
Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Needs rear speakers

HT-ST5000 20 January 2018 by Fordster (USA)

I bought this in December and the sound is great is you crank it up . Need rear speakers to get the full surround sound . I hope they come up with a fix because the sound bar was not cheap and I would like to buy rear Sony speakers for it..

121

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

PLEASE PUSH A FIRMWARE UPDATE FOR REAR SPEAKERS

HT-ST5000 30 March 2018 by MJConte (USA)

I’ve read every single review on this page and 95 % of owners are begging, pleading for the same thing-REAR SPEAKER SUPPORT!!! Why aren’t you listening to your customers Sony? Giving us the same canned answer over and over “We’ll pass this along....we take your input seriously, etc., etc. is meaningless. Actions speak louder than words Sony. Push a firmware update and make this sound bar truly top of the line. Why wouldn’t you want to sell more surround speakers to pair with this sound bar?? Even if you don’t care about your customers, you have to care about revenue.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

87

0

307 Customer Reviews

0

Great Sound Bar

HT-ST5000 11 July 2022 by uncleAL (United Kingdom)

Exellent Dolby Atmos soundbar and subwoofer. Well built and very easy setup. Great for music from the phone thro Bluetooth or Cast.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

HTST5000 05 June 2022 by Rcwjr (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this about a month ago to replace my old home theater sound system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06 June 2022

Hi Rcwjr, That's awesome! We are thrilled to know that you like the sound quality of your new Sony HTST5000 Soundbar with Dolby Atmos and DTS:X compatibility. This soundbar was designed to deliver an immersive, cinematic audio experience at home with three-dimensional surround sound. And, the 7.1.2 speaker channels completely envelop you in sound, even from above. 800W of power and 2 levels of vocal enhancement will ensure you don’t miss a moment of your content. Thank you for choosing Sony! Vincent

0

Hard to wall mount

HTST5000 07 May 2022 by Hergertr (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had difficulty getting audio from Sony tv so got this to be more compatible using Bravia sync settings. Learned that the tv main board was bad and now Sony is replacing the tv because they had no local service techs. Pretty heavy so difficult to wall mount without extra brackets. No option for surround sound. Extra HDMI inputs a real plus and eArc capability.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09 May 2022

Hi Hergertr, Thank you for the 4-star rating. While we are glad to hear that you are getting a replacement TV, we are sorry to hear that you experienced an issue where it does not output the audio to your Soundbar.

We hope that you get a better TV experience this time.

Should you need further assistance, we are always here to help.

You may contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com.

Regards,
Carl

0

Should last longer than a year!

HTST5000 06 March 2022 by kjthayer64 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I loved this sound bar when it worked but after two of them failing within a year I ended up going with a different brand.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Fantastic sound system

HTST5000 17 January 2022 by 1974Harleyservicar (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really makes new 75 inch Sony tv great very easy to use

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18 January 2022

Hi 1974Harleyservicar, Awesome! We're glad you like the fantastic sound quality and ease of use of your Sony HTST5000. This soundbar was designed to deliver an immersive, cinematic audio experience at home with three-dimensional surround sound. And, the 7.1.2 speaker channels completely envelop you in sound, even from above. 800W of power and 2 levels of vocal enhancement will ensure you don’t miss a moment of your content. Thanks for choosing Sony! -Sam

0

This is what I needed

HTST5000 12 September 2021 by Mannyman34 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

A surround sound without so many cords all over the place.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12 September 2021

Hi Mannyman34, Awesome! We are very happy it suits your needs and you are enjoying your ST5000 Soundbar with Dolby Atmos and DTS:X compatibility. This soundbar was designed to deliver an immersive, cinematic audio experience at home with three-dimensional surround sound. And, the 7.1.2 speaker channels completely envelop you in sound, even from above. 800W of power and 2 levels of vocal enhancement will ensure you don’t miss a moment of your content. Thank you for your feedback and offering a fantastic rating on the product! -Jess

0

Works great

HTST5000 24 July 2021 by ccwyland (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been using it for almost a year now. Works great and Im very pleased!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25 July 2021

Hi ccwyland, Good to know that your soundbar works great. This soundbar was designed to deliver an immersive, cinematic audio experience at home with three-dimensional surround sound. And, the 7.1.2 speaker channels completely envelop you in sound, even from above. 800W of power and 2 levels of vocal enhancement will ensure you don’t miss a moment of your content. Thank you for choosing Sony. Erin

0

Sounds great

HTST5000 22 July 2021 by Andy1947 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my 3rd soundbar and I was looking for something that sounded great and you could hear the voices on the tv. This fits the bill. Plenty of inputs, well made, it’s the old story you get what you pay for.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23 July 2021

Hi Andy1947,

Great! We're glad that you found the perfect soundbar. This soundbar was designed to deliver an immersive, cinematic audio experience at home with three-dimensional surround sound. And, the 7.1.2 speaker channels completely envelop you in sound, even from above. 800W of power and 2 levels of vocal enhancement will ensure you don’t miss a moment of your content. Thanks for choosing Sony!

-Ralph

0

LEMON!

HTST5000 12 July 2021 by Eircheard (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this product less than a year ago and now it is unusable. Whenever someone talks there is a static backing note. It will randomly cut sound for a few seconds. I've adjusted setting, changed cables and inputs, even tried a different tv (which shouldn't be an issue because I'm using a Sony x900).

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15 July 2021

Hi Eircheard, We are sorry to hear about the issue you are having. If you've already adjusted the settings, replace the cable, switch inputs, and you're still having the same issue, please make sure that the firmware is up to date. And try to perform a factory reset. Please refer to the factory reset steps on the link below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/res/manuals/4687/bc8f6dee4fbbe142db7bc707e9028061/46878381M.pdf (page 71)

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Great product

HTST5000 10 July 2021 by Thomastheman1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Loving the audio and well built design magnetic cover

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11 July 2021

Hi Thomastheman1, Awesome! We're glad that you love the audio quality of your new soundbar. This soundbar was designed to deliver an immersive, cinematic audio experience at home with three-dimensional surround sound. And, the 7.1.2 speaker channels completely envelop you in sound, even from above. 800W of power and 2 levels of vocal enhancement will ensure you don’t miss a moment of your content. Thank you for choosing Sony. Erin

0

Great Product

HTST5000 30 June 2021  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this at November 1st 2020, I love this product I recommended!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01 July 2021

Hi Maritza Amrhein,

Awesome! We're glad to hear you are enjoying enjoying your ST5000 Soundbar with Dolby Atmos and DTS:X compatibility. This soundbar was designed to deliver an immersive, cinematic audio experience at home with three-dimensional surround sound. And, the 7.1.2 speaker channels completely envelop you in sound, even from above. 800W of power and 2 levels of vocal enhancement will ensure you don’t miss a moment of your content. Thank you for your recommendations and for choosing Sony! - Kris

0

Second unit subwoofer crackles

HTST5000 30 May 2021 by PeterO1982 (USA)

Purchased two. Both units the subwoofer crackles. Seems to be a known issue but have been waiting over a year for a software update.. Take a pass on this one. I bought the most expensive thinking it would be the best. Big mistake.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01 June 2021

Hi PeterO1982, We are sorry to hear about the issue you're having with the subwoofer of both units. This is usually not the case for our products nor the experience we want you to have. To ensure you get the optimal subwoofer connection and to prevent the unit from crackling, please follow the troubleshooting steps and guidelines below:



-If there is a device nearby that generates electromagnetic waves, such as a wireless LAN or a microwave oven in use, locate the system apart from it.



-If there is an obstacle between the main unit and the subwoofer, move or remove it.



-Locate the main unit and the subwoofer as close as possible.



You can also find additional troubleshooting steps on the link below:



https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/sound-bars-home-theater-systems-sound-bars/ht-st5000/articles/00223961



Should you need further assistance, please contact our product support team through this link: https://us.esupport.sony.com/support/s/service?language=en_US



Or email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:



Name:

Username:

Model Number:

Issue:

Telephone Number:



Regards,

Sam

0

Need rear speakers ability!! PLEASE!!

HTST5000 29 May 2021 by FauxFancies (USA)

For what these cost, there needs to be rear speakers possibilities! This is nuts! It will make Sony even more money - PLEASE!! If I have an STR-DN1080, can I add rear speakers??

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

19

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29 May 2021

Hi FauxFancies, Thank you for the feedback on your experience with your HT-ST5000. Unfortunately, there is no option to add rear speakers to STR-DN1080 and your HT-ST5000. If you would like an option with a wireless rear speaker option we would recommend the Z9F and Z9R (wireless rears). Hope this helps!

Regards,
Sam

0

Amazing sound quality

HT-ST5000 26 May 2021 by Sound_Alchemist (United Kingdom)

This is a serious piece of kit! If you value versatility, rich dynamic sound, and a bass so powerful that it makes the whole building shake, then this is definitely a worthwhile investment. Connects wirelessly to the TV, phone, tablet and computer. It conveniently replaces the need for a hifi and if you have access to online film streaming services, then you will never want to go to the cinema again. I’m extremely pleased with the quality of this sound system and would thoroughly recommend it, although if you have any neighbours, I'm not sure they would agree!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

5

0

Great features, ok sound, disappointing lifespan

HTST5000 19 May 2021 by Nemo904 (USA)

Purchased the flagship of Sony soundbars in January 2018 and for 3 years I was very happy with it until suddenly it stopped working. It would still transmit sound but that is about it. It would take a very long time to power up and to shut down and I could not access the menu with the remote. Hard reset didn't work and the firmware cannot be updated. So I am left with a fairly expensive piece of equipment from Sony that gave me 3 years of service. Very disappointed with this soundbar.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21 May 2021

Hi Nemo904,

Thank you for your review. While we are pleased you are satisfied with the fantastic features and great sound quality of our HT-ST5000, we are really sorry you are encountering issues. This is usually not the case and the experience we wanted you to have on our premium soundbar.

Let's try to isolate and fix the problem by performing some troubleshooting steps provided on the following links:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/sound-bars-home-theater-systems-sound-bars/ht-st5000/articles/00175201
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/sound-bars-home-theater-systems-sound-bars/ht-st5000/articles/00223962?cpint=spt-bar_triage_00223961_cannot-operate

If the issue persists, please perform a resetting by pressing and holding the power and - button on the main unit for more than 5 seconds. The settings return to their initial status and the soundbar should operate properly.

If this does not help, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details so we can better assist you.

Name:
Sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo

0

Main board failed several times

HTST5000 21 April 2021 by Meryl24 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Returned it twice while under warranty for repair and now same part failed after a few months of getty a new main board installed Very very very unhappy

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27 April 2021

Hi Meryl24,



Thank you for sharing your feedback with our HTST500 soundbar. We're sorry to hear the issues that you've experience with the soundbar. This is definitely not the experience we want our customers to have with us. We'll have it check right away and will do the best possible for you.



May we contact you to help and get more information? If so, please email the below information to socialsupport@am.sony.com.



Full Name:

Username:

Telephone Number:

Model Number:

Case Number:

Issue:



We are sorry for the inconvenience and hope to speak to you to resolve this matter.

We appreciate you and thanks again for shopping Sony!



Sincerely,

Kris

0

Sounds good. Rear speakers?

HT-ST5000 18 April 2021 by JimS619 (USA)

I like this bar. I like sony products. It's paired with my 75 in. 900h. However need rear speaker support. I assumed since the Z9 had ability to add rear speakers. The ST5000 would. NOPE! You guys need to figure this out. Jim

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21 April 2021

Hi JimS619, we're glad you like the sound quality of our product. We're sorry to hear that you have an issue with the surround sound of your SONY unit. You may follow this link to fix the issue. (Refer to page 46):

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/res/manuals/4687/bc8f6dee4fbbe142db7bc707e9028061/46878381M.pdf

If you require any additional support in regards to this product, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details: Name: Username: Model Number: Issue: Telephone Number:

~Earl

0

Great Sound

HTST5000 06 April 2021 by Mike1950 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought two additional rear speakers to use with this system for room filling surround sound! My only critique is the control buttons on the top of the unit. If mounted on an “ under TV mount it is impossible to access them. Sony would do well to add them to the front behind the magnetic speaker cover

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06 April 2021

Hi Mike1950, We're glad to hear you're enjoying the room-filling surround sound experience of your new soundbar. We appreciate your feedback about the controls. Please be assured we take this very seriously and continuously strive to improve our products. This soundbar was designed to deliver an immersive, cinematic audio experience at home with three-dimensional surround sound. And, the 7.1.2 speaker channels completely envelop you in sound, even from above. 800W of power and 2 levels of vocal enhancement will ensure you don’t miss a moment of your content. Thanks for choosing Sony!

Regards,
Sam

0

Best Sound Bar Ever@

HTST5000 04 April 2021 by VideoClarity (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I decided to take the plunge and spend more and get the best. I couldn't be happier. So easy to setup and use. Best sound in the world. I've been using many surround sound products for 20 years and nothing compares to this!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06 April 2021

Hi VideoClarity, Thank you so much for your awesome review! We are so glad to hear that you are happy and satisfied with the sound quality of your HT-ST5000! This soundbar was designed to deliver an immersive, cinematic audio experience at home with three-dimensional surround sound. And, the 7.1.2 speaker channels completely envelop you in sound, even from above. 800W of power and 2 levels of vocal enhancement will ensure you don’t miss a moment of your content. -Carl

0

Great when it works

HT-ST5000 04 April 2021 by Dave85711 (USA)

Bought this a little over a year ago and sound was great. Now having issues with the sound bar taking about five minutes to power on with annoying video and audio coming on and off with neither one staying on for more than 10 seconds. Have a premium Sony tv and Bravia won’t sync with the sound bar. Disappointed would be N understatement.

Design

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07 April 2021

Hi Dave85711,



Thank you for purchasing our HTST5000 7.1.2ch 800W Dolby Atmos Sound Bar.



We are sorry to hear you're having an issue with your soundbar. This is definitely not the experience we want you to have. Please make sure that the soundbar has the latest firmware version M40.R.0516. To check the version,



1. Turn on your TV and check it's tuned to the input your Sound Bar is connected to, so if the Sound Bar is connected to the HDMI2 socket, choose HDMI2 as the input.

2. Turn on the Sound Bar.

3. Press HOME on the remote control and wait until you see the HOME screen.

4. At the HOME screen, select [Setup] → [System Settings] with the arrow keys on the remote control. Then, press the ENTER key.

5. Highlight System Information on the display and press the ENTER key.

6. On the TV screen, the firmware version number will be displayed. If the version number is M40.R.0516 or higher, you already have the most recent firmware version.

For Bravia Sync related issue, please refer to the troubleshooting article below.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-st5000/articles/00161073



Should you need further assistance, please email the below information to socialsupport@am.sony.com.



Apologies if you disclosed some of this information in your review and to customer service, we just want to ensure that we have your accurate details at the time of communication.

Full Name:

Sony.com Username:

Telephone Number:

Model Number:

Additional Information regarding your experience with the HTST5000



We are sorry for the inconvenience and hope to speak to you to resolve this matter.

We appreciate you and thanks again for shopping Sony!



Sincerely,

Erin

0

I love it but...

HT-ST5000 13 March 2021 by Serge128 (USA)

When will you update software to add wireless speakers????

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14 March 2021

Hi Serge128, We are happy to hear that you love your ST5000 Soundbar with Dolby Atmos and DTS:X compatibility. This soundbar was designed to deliver an immersive, cinematic audio experience at home with three-dimensional surround sound. And, the 7.1.2 speaker channels completely envelop you in sound, even from above. 800W of power and 2 levels of vocal enhancement will ensure you don’t miss a moment of your content. We value your input and appreciate your feedback. Any software updates with the unit, this page will be updated too: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-st5000/downloads. Thank you for choosing Sony! Vincent

0

Excellent sound!

HTST5000 07 March 2021 by Curtis2233 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this soundbar at my local Best Buy. I am pleased with the sound and the features. It still has most features you need today and the 3 HDMI inputs are greatly appreciated. The bass is powerful and I found the best response was during music playback. I played several movies and the sound is awesome. I do have one huge request.....****REAR SPEAKERS**** Please Sony provide an update to make it compatible with your SAZ9R rear speaker PLEEAAASE! The system sounds great, but this move would make it even better with your own rear speakers. Anxiously awaiting, and ready to spend!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08 March 2021

Hi Curtis2233, Excellent! We're pleased to hear that you are satisfied with the sound and features of your soundbar. This soundbar was designed to deliver an immersive, cinematic audio experience at home with three-dimensional surround sound. And, the 7.1.2 speaker channels completely envelop you in sound, even from above. 800W of power and 2 levels of vocal enhancement will ensure you don’t miss a moment of your content. Thank you for choosing Sony! Erin

0

Fabulous!

HT-ST5000 21 February 2021 by HalsM5 (United Kingdom)

I bought this as a birthday present to myself and I am very, very happy that I did! It makes you feel as though you're in the cinema, it's a fantastic system that I'd thoroughly recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

4

0

AN EXCEPTIONAL SWITCHING HUB FOR AV SYSTEMS

HT-ST5000 10 February 2021 by FDW1 (USA)

My review of the Sony HT-ST 5000 is somewhat different because I have a surround sound system as well as a sound bar to use for routine TV activity. Having two audio systems in one AV pathway is always a challenge but using the HT-ST 5000 as an ARC enabled hub greatly simplifies its setup. The HT-ST 5000 is an outstanding and versatile sound bar that outperforms most other high end sound bars. Construction is the best I have seen and there is no plastic or fabric in sight. The high frequency detail and response are excellent and the sound stage can be modified in numerous ways to satisfy most listeners. The subwoofer is well-integrated with the audio response of the sound bar. However because it has a limited low frequency response, its audio output is overly directional and thus it should be placed as near to the sound bar as practical. Overall the low frequency response of the system is good but it could be improved. The following will be of interest mainly to those who have an AV surround sound system but who also want a sound bar for general use. Simply said, the HT-ST 5000 acts as an audio switcher and will automatically turn off its audio when a surround system is active. The HT-ST 5000 is an HDMI ARC enabled hub for all ARC enabled components in the AV system. It can also process non ARC components such as a satellite or cable receiver. With ARC enabled surround sound components, audio is output only by the AVR even if the sound bar stays on. When the AVR is powered off, audio switches to the sound bar. In surround mode the sound bar can be powered off but to allow continued video pass through, its HDMI setting must be at 'Standby Through - On'. Using a non ARC satellite receiver in surround mode, audio is then output at the same time from both the AVR and the sound bar and thus the sound bar must be powered off. Sony has not promoted these important capabilities but audio switching and video pass through are very useful sound bar features in an integrated AV system.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11 February 2021

Hi FDW1,

We appreciate your in-depth review of the soundbar. We are happy you are enjoying your ST5000 Soundbar with Dolby Atmos and DTS:X compatibility. This soundbar was designed to deliver an immersive, cinematic audio experience at home with three-dimensional surround sound. And, the 7.1.2 speaker channels completely envelop you in sound, even from above. 800W of power and 2 levels of vocal enhancement will ensure you don’t miss a moment of your content. Thanks for choosing Sony!

-Ralph

0

Popping noise

HT-ST5000 22 January 2021 by Ben in CO (USA)

I have seen in a few reviews issues with a popping noise coming from the sounbar. This started last week (purchased the soundbar less than 6 months ago) and is very annoying. Did anyone resolve their problem following Sony troubleshooting (unplugging devices and plugging back in or changing cables), or is this manufacturing issue and the unit needs to be replaced?

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25 January 2021

Hi Ben, We regret to hear that you are having an issue with your Sony soundbar. This usually is not the case with our premium soundbars. Please make sure the firmware of your unit is updated to eliminate this issue. The software update also includes key features, applications, bug fixes, and feature improvements. For more details, visit this link: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-st5000.



Should you need further assistance, you can email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:



Name:

Sony website Username:

Model Number:

Issue:

Telephone Number:



Sincerely,

Vincent

0

Great immersive sound... but

HT-ST5000 10 January 2021 by Andrestarz (USA)

Let me start off by saying this sound bar is an absolute beast when it comes to immersive content. It does a great job with projecting sound around you. The subwoofer is also very deep, and loud! My only complaint when it comes to this sound bar, is the center channel. I don't know if its the DSP but I feel like the treble is muddy. I don't blast this bar that loud so I know none of the tweeters are blown. But overall I really like it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10 January 2021

Hi Andrestarz,

We are happy you are enjoying your ST5000 Soundbar with Dolby Atmos and DTS:X compatibility. This soundbar was designed to deliver an immersive, cinematic audio experience at home with three-dimensional surround sound. And, the 7.1.2 speaker channels completely envelop you in sound, even from above. 800W of power and 2 levels of vocal enhancement will ensure you don’t miss a moment of your content. We value your feedback regarding the center channel.

Thank you for choosing Sony. Jay

0

Immersive Sounds !

HT-ST5000 07 January 2021 by RS1980 (USA)

Brought HT-ST5000 in 12/2020 and is connected to, 65X900F (brought 12/2019) and Apple TV 4K (brought 12/2020). Initially had 4K connection issues, Sony online chat helped me resolve issues, Apple TV 4K to HT-ST5000 to TV on HDMI enhanced and HDMI ARC ( enhanced ).  Rest of the connection is easy and uses 4K HDMI cables. Real plus is the settings for adjusting the height and distance, since I have a 2 floor high ceiling and the added benefit of increasing/decreasing the db adjustments. The sound from the sound-bar is excellent, clear and provides good bass. As many pointed out it would be really nice if it can be paired to 2 Hi-Res Atmos compatible rear surround speakers to get the full theater effects. Since this is my first premium Hi-Res sound system apart from couple of high quality noise cancelling headphones, this system stands out for the same music/cinema sounds, it definitively envelopes oneself with sounds even with high ceilings and is now compelling me to try/compare WH-1000XM3/XM4 or HIFIMan 360 degree immersive sound. Also it would be great if the display reads out Atmos/DTS content passed through Apple 4K TV. TV remote can be used to control all devices and works seamlessly. MOST IMPORTANTLY it is a must now that SONY should provide a few demo's with this Soundbar and also for TV's so that most of us can confirm the experience that we get at stores at home as well. Demo's online are not always high quality. Overall, so far it has been living up to expectations, a little pricer, and will come back again to update long term performance, hence 4 out of 5.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11 January 2021

Hi RS1980,

We are happy you are enjoying your ST5000 Soundbar with Dolby Atmos and DTS:X compatibility. This soundbar was designed to deliver an immersive, cinematic audio experience at home with three-dimensional surround sound. And, the 7.1.2 speaker channels completely envelop you in sound, even from above. 800W of power and 2 levels of vocal enhancement will ensure you don’t miss a moment of your content.

Regards,
David

0

Immersive Sound

HTST5000 05 January 2021 by RS1980 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought HT-ST5000 in 12/2020 and is connected to, 65X900F (brought 12/2019) and Apple TV 4K (brought 12/2020). Initially had 4K connection issues, Sony online chat helped me resolve issues, Apple TV 4K to HT-ST5000 to TV on HDMI enhanced and HDMI ARC ( enhanced ).  Rest of the connection is easy and uses 4K HDMI cables. Real plus is the settings for adjusting the height and distance, since I have a 2 floor high ceiling and the added benefit of increasing/decreasing the db adjustments. The sound from the sound-bar is excellent, clear and provides good bass. As many pointed out it would be really nice if it can be paired to 2 Hi-Res Atmos compatible rear surround speakers to get the full theater effects. Since this is my first premium Hi-Res sound system apart from couple of high quality noise cancelling headphones, this system stands out for the same music/cinema sounds, it definitively envelopes oneself with sounds even with high ceilings and is now compelling me to try/compare WH-1000XM3/XM4 or HIFIMan 360 degree immersive sound. Also it would be great if the display reads out Atmos/DTS content passed through Apple 4K TV. TV remote can be used to control all devices and works seamlessly. MOST IMPORTANTLY it is a must now that SONY should provide a few demo's with this Soundbar and also for TV's so that most of us can confirm the experience that we get at stores at home as well. Demo's on The 4K Media Group on youtube are not always high quality, however i assume their downloads are true 4K (4kmedia.org). Overall, so far it has been living up to expectations, a little pricer, and will come back again to update long term performance, hence 4 out of 5.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11 January 2021

Hi RS1980, Awesome! We're very pleased to hear that our product support team was able to resolve your 4K connection issues and you're enjoying the overall sound quality of the unit. This soundbar was designed to deliver an immersive, cinematic audio experience at home with three-dimensional surround sound. And, the 7.1.2 speaker channels completely envelop you in sound, even from above. 800W of power and 2 levels of vocal enhancement will ensure you don’t miss a moment of your content. Thanks for choosing Sony! -Sam

0

made great

HTST5000 30 December 2020 by jrd2021 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

sony ht-st5000 7.1.2 has the best sound. sub-woofer it built better than any other on the market.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30 December 2020

Hi Jrd2021, Excellent! Good to know you're satisfied with your purchase! We're thrilled to hear that you feel the Sony HT-ST5000 has the best sound when comparing to other soundbars in the market! This soundbar was designed to deliver an immersive, cinematic audio experience at home with three-dimensional surround sound. And, the 7.1.2 speaker channels completely envelop you in sound, even from above. 800W of power and 2 levels of vocal enhancement will ensure you don’t miss a moment of your content. Thanks for choosing Sony! -Jess

0

Solid sound with great bass

HTST5000 27 December 2020 by Tronkel (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I replaced my Receiver/Floor Speaker/Center Speaker combination with this soundbar and I am not disappointed. The sound quality for movies are great. The only downside is that for a regular over the air news type channels, the sound is mediocre. I believe it depends on the input quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28 December 2020

Hi Tronkel, We are happy you are enjoying your ST5000 Soundbar with Dolby Atmos and DTS:X compatibility. This soundbar was designed to deliver an immersive, cinematic audio experience at home with three-dimensional surround sound. And, the 7.1.2 speaker channels completely envelop you in sound, even from above. 800W of power and 2 levels of vocal enhancement will ensure you don’t miss a moment of your content. Thank you for choosing Sony and for the 5-star rating! -Carl

0

I really enjoy this Dolby Atmos Soundbar.

HT-ST5000 23 December 2020 by Techy Steve (USA)

It would aid me if there was a Dolby Atmos Sony video available I could use as a benchmark for testing my home setup. It's difficult for me to troubleshoot home audio/video/app/cables/streamer issues without a certified benchmark. My HDMI cables are solid colors with fainted tech specs. I use Belkin 48Gbps passive hdmis, Sony included cables and amazon 3rd party cables that are very eye appealing "snappy white color". Some cables lag under stress and some lack support for 120mhz refresh rate. My wifi router supports WPA3. I'm looking forward to testing Dolby AC4 codex in the future. Awesome soundbar and georgeous sound. (Thumbs up emoji) (θ‿θ)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26 December 2020

Hi Techy Steve, Thank you for this amazing and detailed review of your HT-ST5000. We're glad to hear you're enjoying the excellent sound quality and Dolby Atmos feature of the soundbar. This soundbar was designed to deliver an immersive, cinematic audio experience at home with three-dimensional surround sound. And, the 7.1.2 speaker channels completely envelop you in sound, even from above. 800W of power and 2 levels of vocal enhancement will ensure you don’t miss a moment of your content. Thanks for choosing Sony! -Sam

0

Great sound... with bit of issues

HT-ST5000 08 December 2020 by J_Eclipse (USA)

I connected this soundbar to Sony Z8H eArc input/output with a $100 HDMI cable. Music that I stream through android phone or Sony Walkman through bluetooth sounds excellent. It's also connected with Sony X800M2 4K player, and no issues there also. The big issue is the sound cutting/skipping while viewing streaming movies through TV apps, including Disney+ and Amazon Prime. After trying different configurations, the only way to minimize...or (almost) prevent the frequent sound cutting was to disable the DHEE HX and Soundfield features. I'm happy to change the rating to 4 if Sony can patch/rectify the sound cutting issues via update. 5 if they allow adding the dedicated rear speakers. The subwoofer is already wireless; why not allow 2 small rear wireless speakers?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11 December 2020

Hi J_Eclipse, Thank you for choosing and purchasing our HT-ST5000 Soundbar. While we are glad to hear that you are happy with the sound quality of the soundbar, we are sorry to hear that you are having issues with audio cutoff. In the meantime, please try these steps to troubleshoot the issue. If there is a device nearby that generates electromagnetic waves, such as a wireless LAN or a microwave oven in use, locate the system apart from it. If there is an obstacle between the main unit and the subwoofer, move or remove it. Locate the main unit and the subwoofer as close as possible. Switch the wireless LAN frequency of any nearby wireless LAN router or PC to 2.4 GHz range. Switch the network connection of the TV or Blu-ray Disc Player from wireless to wired.

May we contact you to help? If so, please email the below information to socialsupport@am.sony.com
Apologies if you disclosed some of this information in your review and to customer service, we just want to ensure that we have your accurate details at the time of communication.

Full Name:
Sony.com Username:
Telephone Number:
Issue:
Model Number:

Regards,
Carl

0

Great when it works!

HT-ST5000 07 December 2020 by Tilly Tilly (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am now on my second unit in the space of a month. Really unsure when I bought but Sony assured me these were old reviews and the model has been updated a lot since (these were 2018 reviews mainly). Ensured firmware was up to date but the first sound bar was replaced within a fortnight as started making high pitched noise and no other sound. Just called retailer again this morning to say replacement unit has started doing the same! Otherwise, it's amazing what can come out of a sound bar these days but would not describe it as a fully Atmos unit as it lacks real overhead wow factor.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

14

5

0

Excellent build quality

HTST5000 07 December 2020 by mdechgan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very solid build quality. Enclosures are heavy, built with thick heavy wood. Subwoofer booms, plenty of bass for a large living room. The setup and compatibility is quick and seemless. Only flaw is lack of rear speakers. Very difficult to get the surround sound immersion compared to other systems with rear surrounds.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07 December 2020

Hi mdechgan, Thank you for the 4-star rating! We are glad to hear that you are happy with the build quality of the soundbar. We took note of your feedback and this will help improve our product. This soundbar was designed to deliver an immersive, cinematic audio experience at home with three-dimensional surround sound. And, the 7.1.2 speaker channels completely envelop you in sound, even from above. 800W of power and 2 levels of vocal enhancement will ensure you don’t miss a moment of your content. Thank you for choosing Sony! -Carl

0

Great when working

HT-ST5000 06 December 2020 by jsohn (USA)

I purchased this soundbar a few weeks ago and was immediately impressed by the powerful sound, especially with the subwoofer. Unfortunately, within a few days I started experiencing issues while watching something where the sound would cut off and I would only hear a high pitched tone from the speaker. The only way to fix it seems to be to completely turn off the soundbar and restart it. I already updated to the latest firmware, but this issue happens at minimum once a day. I'm not sure if I'll be able to keep this product unless this issue gets resolved.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07 December 2020

Hi Jsohn, Thank you for choosing and purchasing our HT-ST5000 Soundbar. While we are glad to hear that you are happy with the sound quality of the soundbar, we are sorry to hear that you are having issues with the audio cut off and high pitch tone from the speaker. We'd love to troubleshoot the issue and make this a better experience for you. In the meantime, please follow this article link for troubleshooting the problem with the soundbar: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-st5000/articles/00023449.

May we contact you for help? If so, please email the below information to socialsupport@am.sony.com
Apologies if you disclosed some of this information in your review and to customer service, we just want to ensure that we have your accurate details at the time of communication.

Full Name:
Sony.com Username:
Telephone Number:
Model Number:
Issue:

Regards,
Carl

0

Needs rear speakers

HT-ST5000 03 December 2020 by Rod G (USA)

This soundbar is GREAT. Sound, clarity, bass, effects, all that you can ask for is there. I’ve been told several times that a rear speaker update will be available soon. At the end of the day, you CAN NOT cheat physics. Sound coming from behind you will always be more clear when it is physically there. Sony HTZ9F is much better buy, if you are looking for rear sound GUARANTEED!!! Otherwise, the HT5000 can be the best soundbar in the business.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07 December 2020

Hi Rod G,

Thank you for taking time to review the HTST5000. We're glad to hear that you like the sound, clarity, bass, sound effect of your Soundbar. We value your feedback and will take note as it helps to improve the quality of our product and services. To obtain the good surround sound, set the speakers distance from your listening position and their output level. Please open the link below with steps on how to customize the Speaker Settings for Surround Sound on page 46: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/res/manuals/4687/bc8f6dee4fbbe142db7bc707e9028061/46878381M.pdf

Should you need further assistance, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Regards,
Kris

0

Good bass , poor atmos

HT-ST5000 03 December 2020 by Chevis (USA)

For what I paid i was expecting a good atmos experience which I haven't. I've had it for over a user and adjusted all the height and distance settings and still get no atmos effect. And yes im going through E-Arc with chocolate 4k hdmi. I am getting dolby atmos when I'm watching movies. As it pops up on display if your connected right which i do like. But Can someone please help with there calibration settings if you have any success with atmos.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07 December 2020

Hi Chevis,

Thank you for taking time to review the HTST5000. While we are glad that you like the bass sound of the Soundbar, we regret to hear that the Dolby Atmos did not meet your expectation. We'd like to help troubleshoot the issue and make this a better experience for you. Please make sure the Sound Bar software is updated to the latest version as it helps to improve the overall performance of the Soundbar. Check the device and content if they are compatible with Dolby Atmos. Enable the eARC function for the Sound Bar by selecting [System Settings] - [HDMI Settings] - [eARC] - [On]. You may open this link as reference for playing Dolby Atmos: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-st5000/articles/00194917?model=HT-ST5000&category=home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Regards,
Kris


0

So disappointed! Needs rear speakers!

HT-ST5000 27 November 2020 by Ziner (USA)

I purchased the Sony’s 85” Bravia X950H and wanted to pair with a good Sony audio setup. The lack of rear speakers in this setup is laughable. You should 100% be able to purchase additional speakers to add onto the setup and give you that full 9.1.4 experience you expect from one of the best TVs Sony has to offer. It’s such a huge miss on Sony’s part.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28 November 2020

Hi Ziner,

Thanks for the feedback and we want to say sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced with the soundbar. We will surely take note of this feedback as it helps us improve our products/services. 

Regards,
David

0

Sony needs rear speakers for this sound bar set up

HT-ST5000 26 November 2020 by Not hally (USA)

I’ve had this sound bar and sub for 1 year. It would be great IF Sony would come out with compatible rear speakers. The 3d advertised sound just isn’t there without rear speakers.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26 November 2020

Hi Not hally,

We are so sorry if our HTST5000 did meet your expectations. Currently, the HTST5000 doesn't support additional speaker connections. This soundbar was designed to deliver an immersive, cinematic audio experience at home with three-dimensional surround sound. And, the 7.1.2 speaker channels completely envelop you in sound, even from above. 800W of power and 2 levels of vocal enhancement will ensure you don’t miss a moment of your content.

You may try adjusting the gain in the setup menu to enhance your listening experience. In the home menu, go to setup>Speaker Settings>Level and you can set the level for your front speakers, Height speakers, and subwoofer. You may also want to set the distance to ensure the best surround sound. For reference, please visit page 46 of this link https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/res/manuals/4687/bc8f6dee4fbbe142db7bc707e9028061/46878381M.pdf.

We will surely take note of your feedback as we always strive to make this a better experience.

Sincerely,

Romeo

0

I'd give more than 5 stars if I could

HT-ST5000 24 November 2020 by RB238 (USA)

I don't understand how anyone can not like this. The sound output is amazing with the sub and way better than the Bose sound bar that I got before this. It's a little bulkier than the Bose but you get 7.1 versus 3.1 and the sound is excellent. Highly recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26 November 2020

Hi RB238,

Awesome! Thank you so much for sharing your fantastic experience with the ST5000 Soundbar with Dolby Atmos and DTS:X compatibility. We are extremely pleased to hear it perfectly suits your needs and expectations! This soundbar was designed to deliver an immersive, cinematic audio experience at home with three-dimensional surround sound. And, the 7.1.2 speaker channels completely envelop you in sound, even from above. 800W of power and 2 levels of vocal enhancement will ensure you don’t miss a moment of your content.

Thank you so much for choosing Sony!

- Romeo

0

A Little Disappointing at Price Point

HT-ST5000 20 November 2020 by Yabadabadoo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had for a few months. Nicely designed & certainly improves on any tv speakers. However the upfiring Atmos effect is not noticeable & I wish I had gone for a proper surround sound system with wireless rear speakers. I am sure that for this money I could have bought a very good quality 5.1 system (I was probably too swayed by reviews which I should have avoided). Build quality is excellent, as it should be at nudging £1k and it certainly looks the part. One particularly frustrating feature is having to scroll through all the sound modes to get to the required one rather than just being able to 'one click' select it. In hindsight I shouldn't have spent this sort of money on a 2.1 system.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

13

1

Response From Customer Support
23 November 2020

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We appreciate your feedback regarding the sound mode operation, and we've passed it on to the proper channels for future consideration and product development.
We'd also like to highlight that the soundbar features 7.1.2 channels as opposed to just 2.1.

Sony Support UK

0

Not perfect, But darn good

HTST5000 08 November 2020 by cadmiumeye (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Several things bug me about the product. I wish there was an LED on it to let you know it was on or off. I wish the remote had input selections without having to turn on the TV to select the input desired . I wish there were wireless back speakers you could add on for surround. I wish there was an analog connection that was easy to access for connecting portable devices. I love the punchy base movies and music sound great. The sound is crisp and clear at maximum setting.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09 November 2020

Hi Cadmiumeye, Thank you for choosing and purchasing our HTST5000 Soundbar with Dolby Atmos and DTS:X compatibility. We are really happy to hear you love the amazing sound quality and features of your new Soundbar. This soundbar was designed to deliver an immersive, cinematic audio experience at home with three-dimensional surround sound. And, the 7.1.2 speaker channels envelop you entirely in sound, even from above. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services.
There is a front panel display on the bar speaker and LED lamp (On/standby indicator) on the Subwoofer. Once the unit is turned on, it will display some input source name. You can also change the brightness of the front panel display and BLUETOOTH indicator. The front panel is turned off when "Off" is selected. It turns on automatically when you press any button, then turns off again if you do not operate the system for about 10 seconds.

0

Sound cuts out and pops

HTST5000 18 October 2020 by Sonny68 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this sound bar 3 months ago and after a short period of time we heard popping noises. The sound bar is connected to a Sony 75" 950H 4K TV. At first we thought it may have had to do with streaming content (e.g. Netflix), however, the popping sound started occurring while watching TV (Fios) as well. Also, for at least the last month, every morning after watching about an hour of TV the sound just cuts off. To resolve both issues, we turn off the TV and sound bar then turn them back on and the problem goes away. We tried unplugging the TV and sound bar from the wall, but that didn't help with the popping or the sound cutting off. Very disappointed, I've never had a problem with a Sony device until now. Having said all that, when its not popping or cutting off, the sound is great. We listen to Pandora, watch sports, stream movies, the sound bar fills the room. The TV and sound bar are connected via eARC. We purchased new 4K TV HDMI cables at the same time.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19 October 2020

Hi Sonny68, we regret to hear that you're having popping noises with your soundbar. This is not the listening experience we'd like you to have. Let's isolate the issue by following the troubleshooting guide below.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-st5000/articles/00223961

I hope this helps but if you still need assistance, do not hesitate to drop us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Erin

0

disappointing surround performance

HT-ST5000 04 October 2020 by Tim86 (USA)

The sound bar has disappointing surround and atmos performance. When will an update for rear surround speakers be done?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

11

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05 October 2020

Hi Tim86, thank you for purchasing the HTST5000.

We regret to hear that the surround and Atmos performance did not meet your expectations. For the best results please ensure that you have set your ceiling height and viewing distance in the settings menu. Also please ensure you are using a proper Dolby Atmos source such as a Bluray Disc or a supported streaming service. If you are using an external device such as a Bluray player or external smart device please ensure you are using an HDMI cable that supports 18gps. If you are using the smart features within your TV your TV must support eARC (Enhanced audio return channel) in order to receive Dolby Atmos. When using any of these methods use the clear audio + sound setting. If you don’t have the ability to access any of the sources listed above we recommend using the 3D audio setting to that allows the ST5000 to upscale to near Atmos sound. We appreciate all of your feedback as it helps improves our product. As of the moment, we don't have information about an upcoming update with regards to this model.

Sincerely,
Erin

0

Very easy to use

HT-ST5000 25 September 2020 by Faz mulla (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with the product and good quality sound would recommend it to friends and family

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

5

0

Begging for rear speakers

HT-ST5000 24 September 2020 by Niebs (USA)

I love my Sony Sound bar the sound is amazing but it lacks rear speakers and I feel it could be fixed with a update. Anyways I hope you guys add the option soon!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

25

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25 September 2020

Hi Niebs, We are happy you are enjoying your ST5000 Soundbar with Dolby Atmos and DTS:X compatibility. This soundbar was designed to deliver an immersive, cinematic audio experience at home with three-dimensional surround sound. And, the 7.1.2 speaker channels completely envelop you in sound, even from above. 800W of power and 2 levels of vocal enhancement will ensure you don’t miss a moment of your content.

We’ve also taken note of your feedback on the rear speaker. We take this matter very seriously into consideration of our products.

Thanks for choosing Sony!
Erin

0

Need Rear speakers

HT-ST5000 03 September 2020 by klan_WI (USA)

I got this set to be compatible with my new Sony 900H TV. The sound quality is good but can be better if we can get the rear speakers - SA-Z9R connected, Actually i also bought them too, but then saw the reviews that it cannot connect with them. :( Can Sony provide an firmware update to get that fixed, it would be the best thing ever Hoping to hear a positive reply from Sony

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

21

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05 September 2020

Hi elkay, we're glad that you like the sound quality of the soundbar. Your feedback about using rear speakers is greatly appreciated. Sony takes all feedback seriously. Rest assured that this would help us improve the quality and performance of our products. Thanks for choosing Sony. ~Ralph

0

great sound but needs rear speakers update

HT-ST5000 01 September 2020 by makavely56 (USA)

Im happy wuth sound quality and some features . i also very unhappy that i cant use rear speakers for . hoping sony does make an update soon

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

22

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01 September 2020

Hi makavely56, we're glad that like the sound quality of the soundbar. We appreciate your feedback about using rear speakers. Rest assured that this would help us improve the quality and performance of our products. Thanks for your review. ~Ralph

0

Connectivity Issues

HT-ST5000 22 August 2020 by James27540 (USA)

Everything installed by the pros at Best Buy’s Magnolia. Included the 85” Sony tv and I constantly have connectivity issues in which the sound at will not connect and play the sounds from TV. For $6500 between the two components I sure would expect a better experience. Done with Sony for life.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

6

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25 August 2020

Hi James27540,

We're so sorry you're having connectivity issues between your Sony TV and ST5000. This is definitely not the experience we wanted you to have. The issue you experienced may be resolved by resetting the BRAVIA Sync function between the TV and the soundbar. You will need to go into the menu of the TV and get to the BRAVIA Sync settings. Clear out any devices paired and turn the feature off. Then, disconnect the HDMI cable between the soundbar and TV from both products. Unplug both the TV and soundbar from the power outlet for 1 minute and plug them back in. Reconnect the HDMI cable between the products and enable BRAVIA Sync. You should have audio connections re-established. Please also make sure that both your TV and soundbar have the most recent firmware version as it includes key features, applications, bug fixes, and feature improvements. For the ST5000, you can follow the steps on this link to update the firmware https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-st5000/downloads.

If this does not help, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Worked great for about a year, then stopped.

HT-ST5000 18 August 2020 by Pascal2000 (USA)

I bought this expensive unit, top of the line from Best Buy. Worked fantastic for about 9 months, then all the sudden, the TV sound would not come out, blue tooth would not pair up, and if it did no sound came out. I was unable to access any menus, the unit didn't perform commands and I was not able to use it again.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

5

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20 August 2020

Hi Pascal2000,

We're so sorry to hear you're having issues with your HT-ST5000. This is definitely not the experience we wanted you to have with our product. We have some troubleshooting steps that we want you to try to isolate and fix the problem.

Please try resetting the soundbar by pressing holding down the Power and Volume (-) buttons on the soundbar for 10 seconds. You should see the Reset prompt appear on the soundbar’s display and it will eventually power off. Power the soundbar back on and see if you are able to access the menus.

Once you are able to access the menus, please ensure that your ST5000 is running on the latest firmware version. The software includes key features, applications, bug fixes, and feature improvements https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/home-theater-sound-bars-home-theater-systems/ht-st5000/downloads.

If this does not help, did you know this soundbar has a 1-year limited warranty from purchase? Our service team will be able to assist you in restoring functionality to your soundbar. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Great when working

HT-ST5000 08 August 2020 by MilesC (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about 2 months ago to pair with a new 77” Sony Oled, which is comfortably the best TV I have ever seen. The sound bar has had an intermittent fault of clicking and powering off. I need to get it replaced, when working it is a special experience. Looking forward to swapping for one that works all the time.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

11

9

Response From Customer Support
11 August 2020

Hi MilesC,

Thank you for your review.

We are sorry to learn that you are facing difficulties with your Soundbar as it powers OFF on its own. We recommend trying to connect the Soundbar to the TV using an optical cable to check if this is one of the HDMI features or not. Also, to improve the overall performance of the Soundbar we recommend making sure that the Firmware is updated to the version here: https://bit.ly/2FfGkXr. If the issue is still evident, you can contact us to help you further using the details in the following link: https://bit.ly/2Uadm09.

Sony Support Team

0

Great stuff !

HT-ST5000 18 July 2020 by meszizsolt82 (United Kingdom)

Absolutely love it, fall in love with first time ! Amnazing sound, "Sony Quality" like every Sony product !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

8

0

Great

HT-ST5000 14 July 2020 by AQ8591 (USA)

Easy to set amazing sound no mater the source slim design

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16 July 2020

Hi AQ8591, we're glad you like our product. With 7.1.2 channels and Dolby Atmos support, the HT-ST5000 delivers cinematic three-dimensional surround sound to fill your home. Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

Transformed the sound and fixed sync issues

HT-ST5000 12 July 2020 by warobbo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was a replacement for 2 previous Sonos soundbars as neither of them would play without creating lip sync issues with the lg tv. The Sony fixed all that, we now not only have perfect sync but the most amazing sound. This thing really comes into play when watching movies when it does actually feel like your at the movies. The only negative is the menu and operating system should be moved to an app like Sonos it seems such an antiquated way of having to go into menus to change settings.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

3

0

Not Happy

HT-ST5000 30 June 2020 by myles1962 (USA)

Product has trouble syncing with the TV Also Sony, Does not play loud enough.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

2

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06 July 2020

Hi myles1962, we regret to hear that the soundbar's loudness did not meet your expectation also for the syncing issue that you have encountered. This is definitely not the experience we'd like you to have. Please let us know what TV you have the soundbar connected to. There is an AV sync function which allows you to adjust the audio delay. See page 33 of the instruction manual. If you need the soundbar to be louder, you can adjust the channel gain by up to 6dB. You can find the settings to make your adjustments in the menu. Press Home on the remote and go to Setup. Then select Audio Settings -> Speaker Settings. Select Level and you can make the adjustments.

For additional support, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Erin

0

Please update firmware for Rear speakers

HT-ST5000 22 June 2020 by VirginiaT (USA)

I purchased the Sony H TST 5000 and over all the sound is very good however it needs the addition of rear speakers to balance it out with some of its competition. This is a deficiency with this speakers and please come up with a solution.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

15

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27 June 2020

Hi VirginiaT, we appreciate your time in writing this honest review. Rest assured that we value your feedback which will be a big help in improving the quality and performance of our products. ~Ralph

0

Nothing special for the money and unreliable

HT-ST5000 21 June 2020 by Nigey (United Kingdom)

First one purchased had issue with subwoofer. Replacement would cut out part way through movies and be replaced by high pitched shrieking tone. Went in for repair and told that Sony no longer have the parts to repair it and don’t have any new ones to replace it with. Had to have refund in the end which I was happy about as disappointed with the sound for the money and clearly being discontinued. No overhead ATMOS effects I could hear so complete waste of time buying. I suspect the HT5000 is now at the end of its life. Let’s hope it’s replacement is a proper surround soundbar with rear speakers as people have asked for from the start.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

11

2

0

Disappointing. Over promised and under delivering

HT-ST5000 13 June 2020 by SimonD (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have been living with mine for a few months now as a replacement to a 5.1 system and I’ve been pretty disappointed overall. Sound is ok but not brilliant- quite muddy, even with voice enhanced. Atmos is not very convincing. Options for customising sound are pretty limited. The Music Center app is absolutely dreadful, and disappointing that it won’t connect with Alexa. Over promised and overpriced.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

8

2

Response From Customer support
17 June 2020

Hi SimonD

Thank you for your review.

We're sorry to learn you're facing issues with the performance of the Sound bar would like to recommend improving this by updating the software to the latest version available: https://bit.ly/3fwt7pS

In case the issue remains, don't hesitate to contact us: http://bit.ly/UkSCntct

Sony support team

0

Definitely needs rear speakers

HT-ST5000 04 June 2020 by Another Josh (USA)

The sound is great, clear and decent bass from the sub. However, with the 7.1.2, I thought it would have the ".2" and rear channel capability. It would be great is Sony presented an option so I could truly capture the depth of ATMOS.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

15

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10 June 2020

Hi Another Josh, we're glad you like our product. With 7.1.2 channels and Dolby Atmos support, the HT-ST5000 delivers cinematic three-dimensional surround sound to fill your home. When watching non-Dolby Atmos or DTS-X content you can use the 3D surround mode setting to upscale the audio to 7.1.2. Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

Great features

HT-ST5000 02 June 2020 by ExFederal1 (USA)

Lots of connections! Unfortunately, no real stereo, surround, or Atmos. Just loud. And after being on for 1 to 1 1/2 hours, starts distorting in certain frequencies. And no rear speakers. Sony doesn't seem to care about all the customers who have asked for them.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

8

0

0

Amazing Sound Quality!

HT-ST5000 27 May 2020 by nicoley23 (USA)

This is the first soundbar I've purchased with 7.1 Dolby Atmos. I am amazed at the incredible sound quality! Sony never disappoints. My favorite feature is the option to turn up voices only. I'm always complaining about how much louder music and sound effects are in movies, over voices. This feature makes it so i can turn up voices only, and not have to turn the volume way down when sound effects get really loud. The bass is powerful and you can feel it in your chest. I feel like I'm in a movie theatre! The only complaint I could have, is that the sound bar doesn't come with the 2 screws necessary to wall mount it. But that doesn't take away from the 5-star rating, as the sound quality is absolutely top notch. In addition, its got the DSEE HX audio technology that makes any compressed audio file sound miles better. I am definitely recommending this sound bar to my friends , and I can't wait to show it off!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02 June 2020

Hi nicoley23,

We're truly happy you're enjoying your newly purchased ST5000 Soundbar with Dolby Atmos and DTS:X compatibility. This soundbar was designed to deliver an immersive, cinematic audio experience at home with three-dimensional surround sound. And, the 7.1.2 speaker channels completely envelop you in sound, even from above. 800W of power and 2 levels of vocal enhancement will ensure you don’t miss a moment of your content.

We will have your feedback noted. Thank you so much for commending Sony!

- Romeo

Thank you,

Romeo
Sony Social Media Team