34

4.6 based on 34 customer reviews

21
11
2
0
0
Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great phone, great performance.

XQ-AS72/B2SEAC2 29 November 2020 by Keoh (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great phone overall, use it everyday and still love it. This is the best phone I have ever owned. Just two things : No 5G in my region, and the burst photo quality looks weird and kind of washed out.

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Average phone with a premium price

XQ-AS72/B2SEAC2 18 December 2020 by bzbuzz (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Build and size is good, allow me to hold the phone quite comfortably. Music output from bluetooth is good, but soft when using 3.5 phone jack. Display and photo can be better when these are the core on this phone. It is disappointed that the traditional Sony video and album app is removed.

Performance

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

34 Customer Reviews

0

The right sized phone at a high price

XQ-AS72/L2SEAC2 05 June 2021 by Fatfool (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had the Xperia 5 and now the Xperia 5 II. This is what I want and expect of a phone as it can be held and used with one hand. Waterproof and sleek. But the pricing of this product is just too high for most. It's an expensive phone outright and I doubt most would buy them. In addition, the price increase from the Xperia 5 to Xperia 5 II is about 30% and now the Xperia 5 III will mark a further increase as well. I just don't see how this can sell in any decent volume.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Two touchscreen/display issues with Xperia 5 II

XQ-AS72/L2SEAC2 29 May 2021 by brokeNbroken (Singapore)

When 120 Hz refresh rate mode is turned on, the display has a green tint. And when switching to "240 Hz" using the Game Enhancer app, all green pixels get turned off or something, causing a dark purple tint. This makes both options unbearable to use as the contrast and color of the screen is severely diminished. The second issue is a prevalent bug in Android 11 that affects the pointer tracking. The pointer will jiggle vigorously causing the whole view to shake when playing games such as Call of Duty: Mobile. It also makes it extremely frustrating to aim. Both issues combined make visibility and clarity in game way worse, so the game is almost unplayable on this device. Otherwise, playing music and videos on this phone are enjoyable and great. Those bugs need to be fixed soon, as I have already sent my phone for servicing 3 months ago, yet the issues have not been rectified at all when I got it back.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Sony model to be recommended

XQ-AS72/P2SEAC2 22 April 2021 by KY Seong (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been using Sony products in the past and this Sony Xperia 5 II is really a great product, especially the camera features and overall look and feel also satisfying.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent All Around Performances!!

XQ-AS72/B2SEAC2 21 April 2021 by Air Penny (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it 3 weeks ago. Excellent all around performances from movies, photography or games.. the brightness can be improve especially under the sun. Heard the latest mark iii got an upgrade for the brightness. UI is the best, exactly just like goggle UI! You will love it! Thank you for the amazing product.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Really love it but the front camera is not good.

XQ-AS72/B2SEAC2 14 April 2021 by minhducck (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

- Fit to the hand. - Glass quality is very well. - Camera comes with best quality Photo Pro and Cine Pro. - Terrible video quality when using front camera to do video call. Hope in the future, Sony will update firmware that allow customer to disable AI filter. - Signal strength not too good. - Sometime got FPS drop. My phone with nothing installed, Just office apps.

Performance

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Nice But Not Good

XQ-AS72/B2SEAC2 03 April 2021 by BunnyCain (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Last time I have a Xperia Z5 Premium, I can customize the Widget to 2x2 but this phone Widget customizing is limited to 3X2, waste space and very disappointed. Last time my Xperia Z5 Premium can show notification in numbers but this phone can only show notification in Bubbles, very disappointed. The ringing and speaker volume is still very soft, I can't hear the ringtone or caller talking when in crowded places.

Performance

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

2

2

0

Love the camera controls

XQ-AS72/L2SEAC2 28 March 2021 by cyw_ (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm kinda a camera nerd so the Xperia 5 II and 1 II captured my attention immediately. Camera pro app works! Normal camera app also performs better than my old Samsung J7 plus. Went for 5 II as it is a more reasonable size to hold. Easy to grip, fingerprint lock is easy to access. Love the insane internal storage space. Dolby Atmos is pretty cool too, uses speakers on both the top and bottom of phone. Transfer of data from old phone was easy with Xperia Transfer 2 app. Also has the all-important NFC. Important differentiating factors that Sony Xperia phones have: 3.5mm headphone jack, ability to put external SD card, and front camera isn't within the screen. Recommended for people who aren't intending to watch shows (that's what computers/tablets are for imo) and know their way around a camera (if you don't/don't care for the camera as much/don't want to pay double, I'd recommend the Xperia 10 II)

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great compact design

XQ-AS72/L2SEAC2 20 March 2021 by Nick TJW (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago and the feature I like the most is the compact light-weight design with 21:9 screen ratio. The battery life is fair enough to use for this kind of weight. However, the UI can be improved to speed up the Camera Pro app launching. The fingerprint unlocking feature should have customisable error count, or remove the attempt limit, in case of accidentally touch.

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Best Camera

XQ-AS72/P2SEAC2 04 March 2021 by Azmie (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Camera still the best for me. Nice design. For me sony phone is tough even though drop many times.

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent !!!

XQ-AS72/B2SEAC2 15 February 2021 by Jor2468 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

A long and loyal Sony fan, my previous phone was the z5 premium, a 5 years old old. Used to standard phone size, I had a bit of doubt on the 21:9, so I hesitated on getting the the 1/5/10 series. Waiting for a 16:9 release from Sony, but my old phone is crying. Then, I just decided to get the Xperia 5 II since this is the direction Sony is heading, and doubt that standard 16:9 is ever going to be release by them. Now, my only regret is not getting the phone sooner.... This is my fifth Sony phone and people wonder why I buy from Sony, even my head/ear phones. It is because I trust them and glad I did. 1) The phone looks great: Slick boxy design from Sony never fails for me. 1) It is extremely nice to hold: Fits in your hand perfectly with a good grip. 2) Double speaker: This is what I want from them, what I have been waiting for. 3) Headphone jack: I don't really use it since the Z, but it is nice to have it. 4) External storage (up to 1 Tb): Important to me, even though it has a 256gb, extra nice that it can be exchange will 2nd sim slot. Neat... 5) External/sim can be removed with the the pin: No need to worry about the pin, nice. 6) Powerful phone: All the previous phone can't run power games, but this can effortlessly. I can finally play PUBG. 7) No more overheating issue: This......is the one. My past 2 phone heat up so badly that they damaged the SD card that I am sure they can cook an egg. Solving this is godsend for me. Haha.. 8) Camera: the pro app was fun to use, I enjoyed tuning and capturing stunning photos. Also nice to have a camera button. 9) No notch!!!!: Praise the lord!!! pew.... 10) "Sharp" screen corners: I do not like screens corner that are rounded heavily, but the this phone got a tiny bit, almost unnoticeable, so I am still fine with it 11) Media viewing is fine: This is the one I thought the 21:9 sucks the most, but is is completely fine and it never really bothered me. (one of the few reason i have doubt on the 21:9 12) Battery life is good: I don't need to worry about leaving the house with battery < 50% 13) No magnetic charging: Glad Sony do not have. Something lazy that is worse than wire charging and maybe will affect ICDs and Pacemakers. 14) Integrated power and fingerprint button. Convenient and improvement from Xperia 5 I. However, I wish there is more.... 1) lanyard holder: maybe I am too outdated cause the z5p have... 3) Sony still maintain their app like Album. That App was perfect.... 4) The price is scary AF, but after seeing what I got, it was definitely worth it.... 5) The Sony logo at the front top is gone. I do like having the logo in front. 6) I wish the software can be more Sony like than Google like, Idk how to say This is my first time writing review for a Sony phone as a long Sony fan. I just have to do it once I opened the email because the phone is almost perfect for me. I am glad Sony went with this direction and I wish to see more from them. Thank you.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Superb Battery & Awesome phone!

XQ-AS72/L2SEAC2 04 February 2021 by feryox (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this phone on the last day of 2020. Had been using it for slightly over a month now. I had been a Sony Xperia user till XZ Premium, which is a total disappointment, thus switch to HW & Oppo. After watching several review of this phone, finally decided to get it. Initially was disappointed with the battery life as it couldn't last. However, over time, the phone battery lasted longer than my previous phone, and every few days, the battery life improved! This is something I am very pleased and had been bragging to my friends and family. Other than that, I have yet to try the photo/video pro as I hardly go out these days. Otherwise, the phone is very nice to hold as it is slim. 1 thing I do wish to see is that there are more video contents with the 21:9 format, so that I can make use of this beautiful screen.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

EXCELLENT PHONE

XQ-AS72/L2SEAC2 01 February 2021 by DEV4 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very Happy to buy the Sony Brand. Nice build and handy in the hand

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best Device i used

XQ-AS72/B2SEAC2 29 January 2021  (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good battery life and care System Nice Camera quality

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

it a good phone fit in my hand

XQ-AS72/B2SEAC2 15 January 2021  (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

this phone for me is good not only fit in my pocket also have a decent good battery life, the only this that i dont like the phone is the google asst button. hope the button can customize with other apps.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

The Perfect Smartphone

Xperia 5 II 14 January 2021 by Duke_Wes (Malaysia)

I'm so happy that I can even say that this is the perfect smartphone todate.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great improvement

XQ-AS72/L2SEAC2 14 January 2021 by KH Chin (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice phone, overall function have great improve,hope can bring back sony album

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great form factor!

XQ-AS72/P2SEAC2 11 January 2021 by Eeel (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really like this phone! I like the compact form, it's slim and lightweight which makes it easy to hold. It's not bloated with unnecessary apps. Kudos also to Sony for sticking with the headphone jack and expandable storage - greatly appreciated! And the speakers are excellent. If there's anything that I dislike, it's affordability.. it does costs a pretty penny.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

An absolute gem of a smartphone except for..

XQ-AS72/L2SEAC2 09 January 2021 by Wan Wije (Malaysia) Verified Purchaser Verified

Its unique design really meets my needs for a smartphone. Small, thin and tall design fits extremely well in my hands. One handed operation is brilliant. Its software with minimum or next to nothing bloatware is something I always wanted in a smartphone. But Inthink this is also the cause to some apps on Google Play store to fail to qork properly. I may be wrong. The software / apps I refered to are the banking / financial apps. Cimbclicks and MyASNB are two apps that fail to work properly on Sony Xperia smartphones. Somehow the apps refuse to operate properly on latest Xperias not only Xperia 5 ii, but also Xperia 1 ii and other latest Xperias. I hope this can be fixed as soon as possible. Other than that the smartphone is an absolute gem to use with a brilliant battery life, smooth operations, great camera functions and an excellent eye candy

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

2

0

0

Photo app

XQ-AS72/P2SEAC2 30 December 2020 by Ezyboy8 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Found that this model no longer had the Sony album app

Performance

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

4

0

Great Phone, The Best Camera

XQ-AS72/B2SEAC2 19 December 2020 by amd2020 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this last month. I love this phone design. Easy to handle. Fast responding. Phone unlock is super easy because of fingerprint location. I Love this phone camera quality, accurate colours (True to life colours) + sharp details.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The best compact mobile of 2020~!

XQ-AS72/B2SEAC2 19 December 2020 by Shimaid (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Simple and elegant. Compact size, super lightweight, great screen, and good camera quality. Expecting the under-screen fingerprint but on the power button also a good experience when getting used to it.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic screen

XQ-AS72/P2SEAC2 18 December 2020 by SonyUserSingapore (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The screen is fantastic. The size is very convenient for single-hand use. The camera is interesting, the android camera isn't that good compared to other options (especially in low-light) although the pro-camera offers some extra flexibility. If the camera software improves then this would be very powerful. The only real complaint is the number of buttons all on the side, especially the Google assistant button which seems redundant. Another bonus is that the phone is almost stock Android, with no annoying add-ons!

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Average phone with a premium price

XQ-AS72/B2SEAC2 18 December 2020 by bzbuzz (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Build and size is good, allow me to hold the phone quite comfortably. Music output from bluetooth is good, but soft when using 3.5 phone jack. Display and photo can be better when these are the core on this phone. It is disappointed that the traditional Sony video and album app is removed.

Performance

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Fantastic build quality

XQ-AS72/L2SEAC2 18 December 2020 by Vertical_05 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

great device. Very polished. just the right weight. a little bit too slippery though. Great Pro camera. would give 5 stars after these improvement: front facing camera & computational camera,

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0