Z1R PREMIUM HEADPHONES

Product Reviews

S$ 2,624.00

(inclusive of GST)
32

4.3 based on 32 customer reviews

25
2
0
1
4
Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

32 Customer Reviews

0

Premium quality.

MDR-Z1R 09 May 2022 by Intrakota (United Kingdom)

I bought these Z1R headphones without trying them because I couldn’t find anyone who had them in. Sony we’re less than helpful in locating them or the TA-ZH1ES amplifier and the IER-Z1R either. Now they want me to review the Headphones, well they are overpriced at £1749, I paid £1650, Amazon were asking £1549.81 but in the end couldn’t supply them and so they cancelled the order for me. The build quality is a mix of premium materials, the sheepskin leather cushions are exceptionally comfortable, the 70mm drivers angled towards the ear provide for a well balanced presentation although for me a little brighter with the mid tones would be nice having said that some material is recorded “bright” so this really does depend on the type of material you are listening to, I’m currently using Tidal Masters. The headphones are a great sleeping pill, they can put me out like a light, the resonance filter works very well leaving total silence between tracks. As with everything, what suits one persons taste doesn’t suit another, I’m happy with them although that huge case they come in is really a nuisance and of little use once the headphones are in use plus everything is black, black case black interior, black Chinese cables, black cable wallet and of course the headphones themselves are - you guessed it. Maybe a nice maroon plush interior next time Sony, something warm and inviting. No carry bag/case is provided. Cables - 2 cables are provided, a 3mtr 3.5mm cable makes good sense but the Pentaconn 4.4mm cable is 1.2mtr long - WHY, why can’t I have a 3mtr Pentaconn cable, I’m going to have to sit at or lye on the floor next to my system to use this useless accessory. I did buy some Dekoni velour ear cushions as an alternative to the sheepskin, these can be changed very easily without the need for tools. I do wonder just how premium this Hi-Res equipment actually is, I believe you can judge this by the length of the warranty and in this case it’s a very paltry 12 months, so……. In comparison my basic TV has a 5 year warranty. Would I recommend this product to a friend, I would let them try them and they can make their own mind up as to wether they like the sounds they produce but for the next question I’ll answer yes.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

2

Response From Sony support team
11 May 2022

Hi Intrakota,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to learn that you're enjoying the sound quality and the build of the headphones.
We'll make sure to pass your feedback about the various design points through the proper channels for future consideration and development.
Regarding the availability of a product, we always recommend contacting our authorised retailers for accurate info about the availability.
Regarding the warranty, all Sony products come with a standard one year warranty, some of the products can have an extended warranty (Purchased, or as promo) which you can find more info about here: https://bit.ly/3cr0Qiu
If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Hana @Sony support UK

0

Sony - Z1R Premium Headphones

MDR-Z1R 05 December 2021 by EC01 (United Kingdom)

Great build quality, light, comfortable & great sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

The Reference Standard for Closed-Back Headphones

MDRZ1R 22 May 2021 by Arvin C (USA)

Every once in a while, a manufacturer decides to give their designers and engineers free reign to design their dream product. I'm firmly convinced that Sony did just that with the MDR-Z1R. These headphones are a statement product, an example of a company with considerable resources deciding to assault the notion of what a state-of-the-art headphone could be. From the moment you open the packaging, experience the feel, weight and finish of them, you can tell these are so, so special...and you haven't even heard what they sound like yet! But, then you plug them into your preamp/headphone amp/DAC/player/phone and que up a song (High-Res/CD-quality work best). And you find that this song that you thought you knew so well sounds quite different...that there's more to the bass line than you ever thought was there, that the snap of the snare and crash of the cymbals were never this immediate or clear, that there was such space and depth to the presentation, but with more localization of each instrument and vocal than ever before. And then this song ends, so you play another...and others still...until three hours later, the only realization that can come is you've never experienced your music like this before because you've never had a headphone like this before. Not one with the pace, rhythm and drive, especially in the bass and mids...with such authority over the whole musical presentation. One that is so easy to listen to, with no glaring issues or misses, and without a hint of listening fatigue. Is the Sony MDR-Z1R perfect? No...and that's because if you're a fan of open-back headphone designs, you won't find the airy, spacious sound presentation that the best headphones of that design have. But, I will say these Sony's present with a wider, deeper soundstage of any other closed-back I have ever heard, without ever getting too bright or analytical like some reference open designs do. So, in the end, the Sony MDR-Z1R headphones are quite simply the current reference standard for closed-back headphones. And, if like me, you prefer the sound of closed-back cans, these are the finest headphones on the market today.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

2

0

Amazing sound quality and quantity!!!

MDRZ1R 23 February 2021 by crazydave (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had these headphones for about a month now and I can't believe how great they sound! They far exceed my Sennheiser HD650's in every way! They are soo clear and full sounding, they play very loud also if you like.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

My first serious Headphones

MDRZ1R 09 February 2021 by damon69 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the sound of the Z1Rs. Strong bass without distortion or detracting from the Mids suits my music tastes very well. Paired with a stack of excellent Schiit components, the Z1rs provide the highest quality sound I have ever experienced. They are also beautiful in their construction, and more than comfortable. I couldn't be happier with my purchase!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

very good quality, but not good for the price tag

MDR-Z1R 05 January 2021 by slangy_savant9PS4 (USA)

i absolutely love these headphones! bought them for my pc. great quality, superior sound. only problem is, $1800 bucks. its a crazy amount for headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

10

0

Everything I hoped for

MDR-Z1R 14 October 2020 by physicsapplied (USA)

I'm a relative newbie to the audiophile world. A few months ago I decided to slow down a bit and get a smoking jacket, a really comfortable chair and the best set of headphones and amp I could get my hands on. I spent countless hours on the internet, listened to some friends cans and then did some value based judging. I initially rejected these because I was convinced Sony's time had passed. The more reviews I saw, the more I got past all the marketing from everyone, the more I realized that so many headphones, if not all, have their own unique signature and that I would never be in a room with all 50 prospective cans to try for myself. I enjoy EDM music mostly, but also bluegrass and other acoustical genres (country, rock). More and more I realized that these closed back headphones were probably perfect for me. I took the plunge and ordered them. I practiced delayed gratification and gave them an appropriate burn in phase. I am 110% satisfied with my purchase. The craftsmanship with quality weeping from every detail is there. They are comfortable, not too heavy, but can get slightly warm on the ears. The soundstage is immersive and the base is smooth and rich. No fatigue that I've felt yet. I do own a few other similarly priced top name brands and can tell you that these are the best crafted and the most pleasurable phones I own. I save the box for all of the audio gear I buy, just in case I ever decide to sell it down the road. I save this box for safe packaging when I move. I will own these until I'm ambient temp. I would buy again without hesitation. Every time I go to my comfy chair (no smoking jacket) and sit down with a glass of wine (or soft drink), close my eyes and put these on, I go away. Really, really far away and it's magical.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

5

0

The best headphones i ever had

MDR-Z1R 28 March 2020 by Mission Control (USA)

Very nice sound, light, confortable. I buy also the kimber cable balanced i´ts a must the bass response makes a different experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

19

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30 March 2020

Hi Mission Control, we are glad that you're satisfied with your purchase. Thank you for choosing Sony!

-Erin

0

Amazing. Sony Returns as the King of Closed Back

MDRZ1R 14 January 2020 by center (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing closed back headphone. The leather is very good quality and smells amazing. The build quality is top notch. The most comfortable pair I own. Although MDR-Z1R tends to be a bit genre specific (leaning towards dance, hiphop, and electronic music), it is a great overall performer. It's a little recessed in the mids and +12k for rock and roll, but it is just a such a great chill headphone. A lot of genres sound very good. Bass is so tight and has authority. Nothing is muddy, just really relaxed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

18

0

Horrible i wish i could give it 0 stars

MDR-Z1R 21 August 2019 by Sean7282873 (USA)

Don’t buy this, ordered it and it broke within the first day, thought it wasn’t unlucky ordered another and it broke again. Horrible product

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

9

191

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24 August 2019

Hi, Sean7282873!

We regret to hear about this. To better assist you with this issue, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Amazed every day, all over again....

MDR-Z1R 23 July 2019 by adirob1 (USA)

I've never spent so much money on headphones, especially as I purchased with the top of the range Sony portable DAC (NW-WM1Z), and i did so because i wanted to know for myself if the reviews are real. I'm no audiophile, but i have been blown away time and time again, literally...laugh out loud experiences are continual. I have nearly 5000 albums and i'm slowly working through them like i'm hearing them for the first time. To Sony - thank you so much for investing in the R&D and team to allow them to create such an array of products that for those of us willing to make the financial sacrifices can enjoy. I've never liked a product so much, and i'll continue to be an ardent follow of all future Sony hi-res audio equipment, this entire experience for me was unique and mind blowing and i just can't wait to go to bed every night to escape into my music. I'm obsessed with listening to anything and everything on these headphones. And every day i'm amazed...its a gift that keeps on giving. Just WOW. To the Z1R product team - thank you sooooo much, i'm so, so grateful to enjoy my music with these!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

46

15

0

3 months now and I'm still being impressed

MDR-Z1R 07 January 2019 by Z4Mcoup (United Kingdom)

The quality of the materials used for the headphones and storage box are first class. Adjustment and comfort during use is excellent. I power them with a Chord Mojo DAC amp. Having studied some reviews before I purchased them, I was aware of the “laid back” nature of the sound reproduction, which in turn has led to some negative responses. With this in mind I would recommend that anybody considering purchasing them has an extended demo, to realise their full potential. Be careful though --- it will probably end up with you having to own them!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

50

19

0

Best closed back headphone in the world!

MDR-Z1R 25 December 2018 by lag81 (USA)

Exceptional sound quality! They've got a superb build quality,very durable and they are very nice looking headphones! I'm really impressed by these cans! Thumbs up Sony...you've done a really good job on making us happier with our music!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

31

13

0

Sony Z1R Headphone review

MDR-Z1R 15 December 2018 by Conrad123 (USA)

Bought these headphones for a test. I am pretty disappointed. The product is overpriced.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

7

136

Response From Sony Social Support
16 December 2018

Hi Conrad123, we regret that the headphone failed to meet your expectation. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks! ~Erin

0

CHALLENGE..... PLEASE TAKE IT

MDR-Z1R 17 October 2018 by superprim (USA)

The sound is amazing... Beyerdynamic T1 gen 2 Were my go to before these came into my life. I am not an audiophile and for that matter neither is anyone else. Our ears are so custom that it I all about finding what makes your hearing "feel'

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

39

13

0

Excellent Headphones, Improving With Use

MDR-Z1R 17 September 2018 by Tre7 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these a few weeks ago on the basis of a series of excellent reviews. They are living up to expectations. Most reviewers suggest that they get better with use and that appears to be the case. I am also considering buying the matched amplifier that Sony offers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

36

4

0

Great Product - Amazing headphones

MDR-Z1R 14 September 2018 by Juniba (USA)

Such an amazing headphones best quality and design. 100% recommended

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

1

0

Best headphones for Pop Music

MDR-Z1R 05 July 2018 by Matrix1989 (USA)

I've owned several other headphones including AKG K601, Sennheiser HD 598, Sony MDR-1A and Sony MDR-Z7, and in my opinion this pair of Z1R is the best so far for pop music, the sound is rich and well balanced, I just wanna listen to every song I have for once more. I really appreciate the use of the newly designed acoustic filter. However, I'm not happy with was the plastic housing, the metal housing used on the Z7 model seems to be much more durable and scratch-resisting. Also, the coating on the hanger is easy to wear off and get tin point too if you are not careful enough. These are well solved problems on the older Z7 and I don't know why Sony didn't adopt the merits from their old model.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

6

0

Understated Design with Luxurious Performance

MDRZ1R 24 June 2018 by Formula1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Over the past 40 years I have owned countless Sony products. From their TVs, compact and video disc players to Walkmans and many others in between. However, up until now I had never owned a pair of Sony high-end headphones. When I first saw the advertisements for the new MDR-Z1R I was immediately struck by their understated yet striking design. In reading about the technology and craftsmanship I was, needless to say, curious...if not captivated. So, after setting aside some considerable funding I decided to take a leap of faith and purchase a pair online. I received these a few days ago and have been giving them a pretty extensive workout since. I had been reading in previous reviews that they require a fair amount of break-in time to reach their peak performance capabilities. Actually, I was pleasantly surprised at how good they sounded right out of the box and they have only been getting better since. I was struck by their apparent balance across the entire frequency range with maybe a slight bump in the midrange, but that only seems to give the sound a bit more presence. It is not in any way disruptive of a completely enjoyable listening experience. Lower frequencies are tight and powerful and higher frequencies are not harsh or bright. It was a different sound signature than I had been accustomed to from other Japanese engineered products which always seemed to over emphasize the high frequency ranges. But not here, not with these headphones anyway. The sound is well balanced, non-fatiguing and among the best I have heard in comparatively priced headphones. I have a pair of Oppo PM-1 planar magnetic headphones that I have considered my reference and I can say that these certainly rival them for overall presentation and sound quality. As for fit, finish and quality, the Z1Rs are second to none. The ear pads feel luxurious and the band rests very comfortable across the head. The construction and feel of the unit is luxurious and shows off the tremendous quality and craftsmanship that has been put into this product. And while I have a read a few contradictory reviews I could find no fault with the design or construction of these cans. If there is one criticism it is simply that these headphones come at a price premium. At a suggested retail of almost $2300 these are not for the meek. But shop around and you can probably find them for a bit less. Regardless, they are worth the extra money if you are looking to make a significant commitment to your headphone listening and want a pair that will sound great and give you years of listening enjoyment. 5 out of 5 stars for this discerning listener! Good job Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

41

6

0

Poor quality control!

MDRZ1R 12 June 2018 by JKTRRT (USA)

Just picked them up 3 days ago and noticed that the paint on the back of the headphone has a missed painted spot. They are expensive and should have inspected for imperfections. I am not happy!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

26

117

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12 June 2018

Hi JKTRRT,

We do appreciate providing us with your feedback for the betterment of our product. We will pass this to the proper department. 

0

Excellent headphone

MDR-Z1R 04 February 2018 by syed39 (USA)

My brother gift me the headphone and I think this model is the best headphone ever i used.

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

13

0

ZIR PREMIUM HEADPHONE Simply the best

MDR-Z1R 17 January 2018 by Rauf (USA)

I am a Professor & two of my students purchased this Headphone. Invited me to enjoy music using this headphone. Splendid feeling,hard to describe it reception simply excellent. Both students describe it their immaculate treasure.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

22

7

0

terable

MDR-Z1R 16 January 2018 by bald larry (USA)

i have had these for about 2 weeks and i dropped them and now they dont work :/

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

10

230

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16 January 2018

Hello bald larry, we are sorry to hear what happened to your unit. For repair options, kindly check the link provided below:
https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/service.pl
Regards, _Bob

0

trash

MDR-Z1R 16 January 2018  (USA)

these are the uglyiest headphones and trash and never buy these ever again its the worst headphones.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

12

222

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16 January 2018

Hi sonyistrash, Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks! _Bob

0

Grand,speaker-like experience;plump+organic images

MDR-Z1R 29 December 2017 by R__S (USA)

I've had this for almost a year and feel they are a real breakthrough in headphones. It's a big, grand sound along with palpable, natural images with real-life spatial portrayal. They are not fatiguing, especially with the optional Sony-Kimber headphone cable made especially for the Z1R (available at Amazon). The Z1R to me has a wonderful warm resonance that does sound aggressive, but is still uncannily real. The music flows but has real impact and humanity. You may want to give up on speakers with these headphones. It's a unique sound that you will not find with any other headphones. Many high end headphones can be shrill and painful in the name of a vivid sound, but that can be hard to live with. Not the Z1R, it is inviting while also resolving, with a balanced sound that is riveting and still supremely musical and detailed. And it's very comfortable too. It is best with a good, fairly powerful amplifier. The Z1R is a real cure for over-shrill digital sound. It sound analog, almost vinyl-like with any digital input. It's an awesome achievement for Sony IMHO.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

37

6

0

superb headphones

MDR-Z1R 07 August 2017 by Pavlova (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought them to match the Sony headphone amp. They make a good match and provide wonderful listening. They are also very comfortable, despite their large size.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

48

6

0

Outstanding on any aspect

MDR-Z1R 01 May 2017 by ThibS (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have it for few months now, and I am still smiling each time I use it. Love the sound signature, very comfortable, very limited sound leakage (I use it at home and at the office). Would not recommend for nomad use though, mainly because of the size and the risk of damaging it if the wired gets caught as it can happen.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

54

9

0

Kando

MDR-Z1R 12 April 2017 by Sirencall (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've owned a lot of top end headphones, and none have compared to these. They're different and that's why I like them. What these do that other top end headphones do not do is deliver emotion. Warm, buttery emotion whilst not compromising on the high fidelity experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

78

13

0

Best close headphones

MDRZ1R 07 March 2017 by Richguy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

With the new Walkman this the best combination i have bought in years.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

57

14