E PZ 18-105MM F4 G OSS

Product Reviews

S$ 799.00

(inclusive of GST)
112

4.5 based on 112 customer reviews

69
35
4
4
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in certain countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Lens for value, weight and sharpness.

SELP18105G 22 August 2017 by Gordon M (USA)

If I only have room for one lens this my go to lens it's light, compact and sharp. The photo was shot at 105mm on an A9 in full auto settings. Sure you can buy a lens with a lower f stop but it will double the weight and triple the price and a maybe a fraction better quality???

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

21

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Better for Video than Photo

SELP18105G 21 September 2019 by BigMo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am a bit disappointed in this lens. It's slow to focus, it isn't as sharp as I expected for a 'G' lens and the manual zoom ring slips (auto zoom is slow for photography, but smooth for video). Also, my A6300 says the lens is not compatible with the Eye AF - Just underwhelmed

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

5

0

112 Customer Reviews

0

Looks the part, but mine was faulty

SELP18105G 29 July 2022 by Calmsea (United Kingdom)

Initial reaction was favourable. Excellent speed and accuracy of focus and crisp image, but, and it's a massive one, there was intermittent issue causing selective vignetting to top left corner of frame only. All apertures, at any short focal length. Like something was sticking. Returned it. Not going to risk another. Disappointing qc. Will probably stick with kit lens on my a6000, and carry on lugging a DSLR for anything beyond that.

Performance

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony Support Team
01 August 2022

Hi Calmsea,

Thank you for your review.
We're sorry to hear that you've had to return the lens due to facing vignetting while using it.

While using this lens with your A6000, the [Lens Comp.: Distortion] setting will be set to "Auto". Which should reduce vignetting.
Also, when using the lens, the corners of the screen become darker, than the centre. To reduce this phenomena, close the aperture by 1 to 2 stops.

Of course, we appreciate your feedback and we'll pass your feedback to the relevant channels for future consideration and development. And once more, we're sorry about any inconvenience.

If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Sawy @Sony Support UK

0

A great all round lens

SELP18105G 03 December 2021 by fuzed (United Kingdom)

We've owned it less than a year, and it is a very nice versatile lens, build quality as with anything could be a little better as ours developed a fault after 8 months of usage - which appears to be a common issue where the lens does not focus when the camera is pointed downwards and then turned on.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony support team
09 December 2021

Hi fuzed,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your lens and for more years to come.
We're sorry to hear about the lens focus issue and will make sure to pass it through the proper channels for future consideration and development.
If you need any assistance you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL.

Hana @Sony UK

0

The best Sony budget zoom video lens.

SELP18105G 16 October 2021 by dnsdobai (United Kingdom)

If you are a 'run & gun' shooter and you need good wide-angle/zoom lens for video don't think twice. Buy this one. excellent on gimbal.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great general purpose lens

SELP18105G 13 October 2021 by Boblet17 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens used from a well-known auction site shortly after purchasing my a6100. It was the first lens I bought (not counting the kit lens) and it has been onoe of my most-used lenses ever since. It is easily sharp enough for the 24Mp sensor in my a6400 (I upgraded) and the zoom range is perfect for casual photography. It focuses nice and close, allowing some lovely shots of flowers and the like, and of course at the wide end it is useful for landscape or street photography. The only downside is the bulk, it is big and heavy for what it does, but not so much as to be uncomfortable to carry.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony Support Team
20 January 2022

Hi,

Thank you for your review.
We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your SELP18105G and hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come.
We highly appreciate your feedback and we've raised it to the relevant channels for future considerations.
If you need any assistance in the future, you can contact us using this link: https://bit.ly/2NwYLXL

Omnia@ Sony UK

0

Constant f4 is cool, but the moto zoom not so much

SELP18105G 13 October 2021 by KamilKW (United Kingdom)

It is a nice lens all in all, but f4 is a bit too small for indoor, and the moto zoom is not easy to operate - sliding it causes movement. Why not buttons? Or why not use a camera menu to zoom? Also, using a remote control is not that convenient either. Eventually, I sold mine and replaced it with 18-135mm, which I am happy with it. Sony recently added a f2.8 zoom, but the price! Come on.

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

Response From Sony support team
03 February 2022

Hi KamilKW,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're sorry to learn that you returned your product.
We appreciate your feedback and will make sure to pass your feedback through the proper channels for future consideration.

Hana @Sony UK

0

Nice all purpose lens!

SELP18105G 25 July 2021 by mwr55 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed a lens with a good range from wide angle to portrait, with a decent f-stop - this lens will stay wide open (f4) throughout its zoom range, which is sweet!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice lens, as long as it worked

SELP18105G 01 July 2021 by Marshrat (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am working on a ski photography project, and this proved the perfect lens for my effort: just the right range with my APS-C camera (a6400), a single package that fits well in my hands and fits with the small camera in a small waist pack. However, after just a few months, my camera will no longer recognize the lens. I sent it to warranty repair with Precision Camera Repair, and after nearly two weeks (twice as long as promised), they have asked for the camera, since they claim they can't replicate the problem. It works fine with other lenses, and I've now had to send the camera and kit lens to them, shutting me down with this system. Fortunately, my Canon cameras still work.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

amazing quality

SELP18105G 20 June 2021 by eelakesan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I haven't seen anything like it I have gotten amazing footage and photos with it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Picture quality is very bad for the price of it.

SELP18105G 29 April 2021 by AbRaf (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it a month ago but the picture quality is very bad.... Not happy at all

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

5

Response From Sony support
03 May 2021

Hi AbRaf,

Thank you for your feedback.
We're sorry to learn that you're experiencing an issue with the picture quality.
Having read your feedback, we would like to be able to offer some assistance so please don't hesitate to contact us using the details here: https://bit.ly/2VBcJwW.

Sony support UK

0

Great lens for the price

SELP18105G 18 December 2020 by Jacklyn (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this lens. It's a great lens for a beginner who want's to record videos,vlog and take pictures because it has power zoom like a camcorder to go back and forth if you don't like manually zooming the video. l don't want to switch lenses a lot when I'm outside recording to protect from dust and keeping the lease clean. Plus also for convince and comfort it's just easier to stick with one lens like this lens can do. And It has a great focus length from 18mm-105mm and with the sony zoom on the A6400 you can get a clear shot and stretch past the 105mm and go up to 135mm. You can zoom even further with the digital zoom on the a6400 of up to 200mm I think. On the digital zoom it's not as clear once your getting close to the 200mm, but the lens can get some extra push to go farther which I like if you just adjust and pull back a bit on the zoom. I do wish that Sony would consider making a newer power zoom lens that is even more clearer than this for an upgrade and in the same price range with maybe a 16mm wide angle view or an even smaller wide angle view since the competition out there is trying to go smaller for less and that Sony would make a power zoom lens that would go all the way up to 200mm with a clear zoom. The reach you get with this lens at 105mm is still very good and I think most will love this lens just like I do, but now that I have had it for some time I do want more of a reach with a small compact size because I felt like I needed to go further to get a closer affect with animals and landscape and I think a small lense like this with more push would get me there. Sony I love this lens and recommend all beginners to get this lens as it can do most jobs and the quality is very high when using 4k, but I sure hope that Sony thinks about making another G lense like this in this price point or less with a smaller, lighter body and further stretch as I think a 200mm lens is a good enough stretch for a beginner to get those animal or landscape shots a little closer. The build on this is great and all metal but I would love for it to be smaller and lighter but if it can't be done smaller and lighter to get further length I still love this allot that I would use another G lens this size if it got me a further stretch in power zoom. I know they have the 18mm-135mm but I want to go even further as my daughters camera goes up to 200mm zoom and I would like to do the same with a smaller lens like this. I want to see more power zooms that have it all cause I need a wider lens for selfies but still need to zoom in animals and landscapes just a bit closer. But for what you get I love this lens and will continue to use it till they make another power zoom. People want more power zooms for low price points when it comes to making videos and vlogging and I got this one because the price was right. I'm not a consumer than can go higher on lenses so I appreciate when Sony can give us quality like this at a more affordable price point for the average consumer.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good Lens

SELP18105G 02 September 2020 by Pherbe (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good lens, disappointed as I had to send the first one back to the retailer as it has a large dust spec on the inside optic, which was clearly visible on shots. Hence 3/5. Its a good quality lens and performs well, with out the dust issue would have given a 4/5

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Great everyday use lens

SELP18105G 02 June 2020 by Jacksrfleming (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens has helped me get to the next level with my photography, before I only had a standard kit lens which in itself was awesome but the depth of field and zoom is so good with this one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very good lens

SELP18105G 10 May 2020 by Gedryk (United Kingdom)

Great investment as a first lens. New as a hobbyist, I needed a versatile lens but with a higher quality than the kit lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Value for money

SELP18105G 28 January 2020 by Rich69 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great lens at a reasonable price. Distortion at both ends of the zoom corrected in camera - if it's a Sony. Auto focus takes about 2-3 seconds to find optimal sharpness - could be improved. If you can live withe the slow autofocus and have a Sony camera then it's a bargain.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Customer Support
30 January 2020

Hi Rich,

Thank you for your feedback. We have released a new firmware update to improve the overall performance of the lens, which can be downloaded using the link under the Downloads section here: http://bit.ly/2GBSLu4. If this does not resolve the slow focus issue, you can contact us using the details in the following link: http://bit.do/eQfRM .

Sony Support Team

0

18-105mm

SELP18105G 09 January 2020 by EZ DONT STOP (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

A must have for your camera. Very excited for the new horizons ahead

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

0

The go to lens!

SELP18105G 26 December 2019 by Niknak68 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens now sits on my A6500 full time. So useful in mammy different situations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good optics, slow zoom

SELP18105G 11 November 2019 by SCOTTPA (United Kingdom)

Bought this lens with an a6500 to replace an aging Nikon D7000. Lens build quality and optical quality are good. The electronic zoom is too slow for following moving subjects.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Response From Customer support
15 November 2019

Hi SCOTTPA,

Thank you for your review.

We recommend making sure the lens is running the latest firmware version available to guarantee the best performance using the Download section found in this link: https://bit.ly/2q7FMM5

Sony support team

0

Great travel lens

SELP18105G 30 October 2019 by TisMe (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Using it at the moment, the perfect compromise for scenic shots and zooming into wildlife, nicely balanced on my a6300 and bright across the range.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great product !!

SELP18105G 13 October 2019 by Noir Et Blanc (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A very good lens with superb quality in a very good price

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Perfect lens for everyone who loves photography

SELP18105G 29 September 2019 by Mitkus (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens 2 month ago, and Iam so happy for this purchase ;)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Better for Video than Photo

SELP18105G 21 September 2019 by BigMo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am a bit disappointed in this lens. It's slow to focus, it isn't as sharp as I expected for a 'G' lens and the manual zoom ring slips (auto zoom is slow for photography, but smooth for video). Also, my A6300 says the lens is not compatible with the Eye AF - Just underwhelmed

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

5

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22 September 2019

Hi, BigMo!

Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

Regards,
David

0

Great quality

SELP18105G 20 September 2019 by DaveT65 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with quality of pictures, sharp and bright. Very good value with cashback.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony quality great lens

SELP18105G 20 September 2019 by Hazey62 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a month ago in the Sony cash back offer and Sony paid the cash back within 2 weeks after submitting. Wanted a lens to take on a cruise that would also do great videos. Match it to my A6400 camera and the lens did not disappoint. For the price you cannot go wrong, well made and the zoom and steady shot options work a treat. Will be using this lens on lots of events, Also, takes great pictures.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

What a lens for the crop sensor

SELP18105G 31 July 2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I use this for landscape, portrait and everything in between. Love the lens. Sharp front to back.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Good Aps lens

SELP18105G 07 June 2019 by Garnel (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice lens with motorised zooming which produces nice video. For photography not essential, and would recommend buy something else as zoom not always accurate using the ring. Quality of photos as good as my previous Nikon f2.8 zooms. Wish it was f2.8 for increased boke but at this price can’t expect more.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great, well-invented product

SELP18105G 03 June 2019 by bifron (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I used this type of lens for a long time but it was borrowed. Now I have my own! Great, well-invented product, very useful for video recording. The quiet power zoom is very useful! I make wedding, event, dance and sports footage with it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Lovely clear lens

SELP18105G 16 May 2019 by Soundguru (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this with my Sony A6000 camera as an addition to a Sony prime lens. I wanted a versatile zoom, that is sharp, easy to focus and not too large. You can use other third party lenses, but I wanted Sony's inbuilt stabilisation, which works so well. This lens does a great job of capture, the focus is quick, and in low light it also performs really well. Of course, its not quite as sharp as a prime, but this lens will not let you down. Its also quite wide angle too, I have used it for landscape shots, making it very versatile. It will be my day to day go to lens when travelling.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great for Sony A6500

SELP18105G 24 April 2019 by Motazee (United Kingdom)

Am happy to be able to get my G lens by Sony, works very great for my needs and cheap to buy too,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp lens

SELP18105G 19 April 2019 by BobbyT (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Used this lens for softball games, much sharper than results with the kit lens (55-210). even though I can't zoom in as much, I can crop the photos later, and get great results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Features

SELP18105G 01 April 2019 by Ukghost (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this in August last year and it was great, but recently it has had problems and the pictures are all out of focus wiith this lense so i am having to try and return it under warranty to get it repaired

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Customer support
05 April 2019

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback.

We have read your review and we recommend that you update the current firmware version of the lens following the steps in this link: https://bit.ly/2YQhCSu (Under the Download section)

If the issue remains, you can get in touch with us using the following link so we can help: http://clc.am/4w7bGw

Sony support team

0

I am very happy with this sony Lens i bought.

SELP18105G 09 March 2019 by Mickey Van (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this in Feburary this year, and this is the result! Great Stuff!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

2

0

Versatile Lens for Both Pics and Vids!

SELP18105G 19 February 2019 by Ianstein (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this lens while on vacation during the holidays... Exceeded all my expectations... extremely satisfied!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great handling lens

SELP18105G 05 February 2019 by sallison30 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Haven't shot with it much but it fits very well on the 6300. Build and autofocus are good.Distortion is quite high though.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Still getting to know this lens.

SELP18105G 28 January 2019 by Scarlucci (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have very recently bought this lens and I did not have the opportunity to fully appreciate it's characteristics. I have taken some good night shots at very high ISO's and it did quite well. Grain was not prohibitive for my purposes. I think I will be able to give a more meaninful revew after some time.

Features

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Pin sharp on auto

SELP18105G 12 January 2019 by Gilama (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this in November as an addition to my A6300 which I bought as a second camera being smaller than lighter than the full frame I mostly use, better for travelling about. I have used it a few times now. Iv found it easy to use and very sharp, rather more impressed than I thought I would be!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Consistently good all around lens

SELP18105G 07 January 2019 by Nikston (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great run and gun lens that covers a good focal range.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great lens

SELP18105G 08 August 2018 by Neville88 (USA)

I purchased this product over a year now. Excellent Lens when i used it with my alpha 6000. However, I just bought the alpha 7 3 and finding out that there’s an issue with the JPEG IMAGE SIZE ie L: 10M. Do i need an adapter to get a larger image size ie L: 24M at 3:2 ratio when using it with my a 7 3?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

20

0

Great product

SELP18105G 05 July 2018 by Hg97_martins (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens 2 weeks and since then this lens doesnt stop to impress me in a good way.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent partner to the EA50

SELP18105G 14 June 2018 by osaeris (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I use this lense to shoot shoulder mounted interviews, wide shots, corporate activity, events etc. sometimes in quite low light. This lense has an excellent clear picture throughout the zoom range and nice shallow depth of field if you feel the need to create this. Even being F4 - not the fastest - it picks up plenty of light for my purposes. Looking forward to trying it with a brand new A6300 too. The Steady Shot means I can do without a tripod more often. The only weird thing which takes some getting used to is the servo zoom which is still very smooth but feels totally different to a mechanical zoom ring. This is also excellent value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

5

0

Great all round lens

SELP18105G 23 May 2018 by BLKPOOL (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this after review on YouTube, glad I did as it so far has been a good investment, good all round focal length for landscape and portrait and very good for movies. Cannot really fault the quality of the build or of the images, great value lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Very versatile and good lens

SELP18105G 16 April 2018 by Nonni (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this few week ago and I really like it very much.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Smooth Zooming for Video

SELP18105G 06 April 2018 by Jac222 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens along with the Sony A6300 mirrorless camera as a first-time purchase since moving on from a bridge camera. Took ages a while back reasearching making a decision so as to make the best choice, mistakingly choosing another more expensive Panasonic FZ1000 Bridge on route, two of them having to be returned. The lens on such Panasonics was dreadful in terms of build quality and was what caused me to quickly appreciate that you have to pay more for a quality camera and lens. So my experience had me jump again and went mirrorless buying this lens which for my first sojourn into such lenses I am thoroughly impressed. The beautiful smooth zooming is a delight particularly for video and with constant f4 you have no exposure re-adjustments to make during the transition. Unlike the FZ1000 lense the Sony is solidly built, you can just feel it in your hands, that builds a sense of confidence in the lens that has only grown with use. I am unlikely to buy other lenses for my Sony A6300 camera, as I don't see myself as that type of photographer, Part of the reason is the facilities on this lens like the FL of 18-105mm (157mm full frame equivalent) along with the camera make for a fantastic combination of quality that is unlikely to have them separated in our household. Moving from long 25x zooms of bridge cameras I realised the number of times you actually take such long high-zoom images eventually is rare. Hence the 8x zoom of this camera is more than adequate with the Sony A6300 camera allowing me a smooth seemless transition to another 4x digital zoom anyway (32x in total) in the rare occassions I might need it, and still leaving me a quality 6M image. One last thing I never appreciated till I got it, the lens does not extend when you zoom, which is great. Yes it stcks out a bit further than other lenses as a consequence of that charactaristic, but it is balanced in the hand and that balance remains throughout the zoom. I love the lens after the huge learning curve to get to mirrorless, will never look back now.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

2

0

Beautiful zoom action

SELP18105G 25 March 2018 by Bac Pay (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

finally got this lens, and it was well worth the wait, the picture quality is excellent, and for videographers the zoom action is a must have for any zoom lens

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great EDC lens

SELP18105G 11 March 2018 by Basenjijax (USA)

Great everyday carry lens light weight Great range Produces Great images Great value

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Sony 18- 105 mm F4 G OSS lens.

SELP18105G 11 February 2018 by Lol 321 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the Sony 18-105 F4 G oss lens to go with the Sony a 6000 I received in December, experimented with it along with the kit lens which came with the camera. The lens worked well and so it accompanied myself and 2 friends on a trip to Glencoe at the beginning of February and I must say after getting the hang of it I am very happy with the setup.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

5

0

First lens with a6500

SELP18105G 08 February 2018 by DDaniel (USA)

I bought it for video and it's excellent the only thing i'm a bit disappointed about is the fact that it's not weather sealed but the price just awesome makes me want to buy a thousand more.. this lens worth the money that's for sure! :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great Camera for Affordable Price

SELP18105G 02 January 2018 by A_Surya (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens a few days ago and I've been using it since then. For travelling purpose, it's little bit heavier than I thought but it's not big problem

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

9

0

Very nice lens

SELP18105G 18 December 2017 by Fabro (USA)

I've owned this lens for 3 yrs and it is a great lens! It is usually my go to lens unless I need more reach. the bokeh is pleasant and it is plenty sharp, especially at F7! I would have put some pics on but I don't know how to get them below 5mb! Don't hesitate to buy this lens if you don't have $1500.00 for a better one because it is a great lens!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Big and clumsy

SELP18105G 07 December 2017 by makkokl (USA)

I don't know, but in my eyes the kitt lens 3.5-5.6/16-50 has better image quality at shooting photos. Sorry folks, but so I see it.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

19

0

Video Lens

SELP18105G 07 December 2017 by Jukey71 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i brought the A6500 and this lens purely for video. i heard that professional have used this for weddings and even though i shoot street stuff i wanted the best at an affordable price. I have a lot i intend to do come 2018 and so far this lens works perfect with this camera in day light. However it's a bit big, but quality at the same time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Everything I was looking for in a zoom for stills

SELP18105G 07 December 2017 by gwilliams6 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for my Sony A6500 on the recommendation of other pros. It is all I could have hoped for in a lightweight, yet outstandingly sharp zoom, with added power zoom features . A great overall lens and it stays on my camera more often than my other lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Quality lens

SELP18105G 05 November 2017 by Ash68 (United Kingdom)

Bought this to replace the 16-50 kit lens and it's a massive step up in build quality although I honestly can't see much difference in image quality but I've only had it a month so too early to tell really. The auto focus is very quick and I love the manual focus dial so all in all very happy. Don't do much video shooting but I would imagine this lens to be a excellent choice due to the constant F4

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

1

0

Excellent lens

SELP18105G 16 September 2017 by Sponge daddy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

An excellent lens for both video and photographic purposes. As sharp as you would expect from a G series lens, and a good price. Very pleased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Disappointed

SELP18105G 14 September 2017 by Chimes1953 (United Kingdom)

I had great expectations for this lens and I have to admit that it doesn't disappoint in use. Good range of focal lengths make it very versatile. I would have given a 5 star rating but for one little quirky point, which I think is a little cheap skate given the price of the lens. There is no lens cap! Is this a big deal? For me it is, particularly when I discovered what the Sony 72mm lens cap cost.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

22

0

Versatile Lense

SELP18105G 12 September 2017 by Johnny970 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a month ago with a6500, a day before for my 3 weeks west coast road trip. In which, i'm glad i did, with my limited knowledge with cameras and lenses, i was able to take astounding pictures be it portrait, landscape, or even at a low light environment such as the caverns, all i did is set it up in auto mode with my cam, use the toggle to zoom in/out, point and shoot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

14

2

0

Great Lens for value, weight and sharpness.

SELP18105G 22 August 2017 by Gordon M (USA)

If I only have room for one lens this my go to lens it's light, compact and sharp. The photo was shot at 105mm on an A9 in full auto settings. Sure you can buy a lens with a lower f stop but it will double the weight and triple the price and a maybe a fraction better quality???

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

21

0

0

Questionable Quality Control

SELP18105G 03 August 2017 by Caleball (USA)

This product takes good images with only minor defects most notable at the corners. At times the vignetting appearance at the edges is extreme and requires extensive post production work to correct. The zoom ring is perfect and I appreciate the ability of the lens to change the direction for zoom to mimic other brands (can zoom by turning the ring right or left depending on settings). However the focus ring is poorly made... at least on my lens. The gap is drastically different depending on what angle you look at it from. The rings are against each other which has allowed sand and dirt to get between the two metal rings and make a horrible grinding effect. The lens also falls asleep often and takes a moment to wake up to take pics. If you hold the lens at a downward angle the lens will vibrate and grind when zooming in or out. This also makes a sound that ruins any film.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

11

10

0

Super Lens

SELP18105G 17 July 2017 by Bradus (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So pleased to find this Lens. It fits my a6000 very well, and is a natural replacement for my Minolta 'A' mount AF 28-105 zoom xi. The powered zoom is smooth and quiet, and although I have a number of fine prime lenses, it will be very hard for this lens to leave my a6000.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

E PZ 18-105mm F4 G OSS

SELP18105G 16 July 2017 by Maggs (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens to my use as often as possible, very pleased with the results

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Tac-Sharp ¦ Fast Focus ¦ Professional Quality

SELP18105G 19 June 2017 by Residentevilzerofan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this after reading endless reviews and watching hours of video reviews. Let me give you some advice: if you are thinking about buying a lens that is versatile, can adapt to many situations and has a very fast AF - then this lens is for you - at this price you really cannot go wrong - it's TAC sharp - it really is - the sweet spot is around 71mm @ F6.3/7.1 - it comes to life. @ a 100% crop I am astounded by it's centre sharpness. I purchased the HOYA Revo UV filter for it as I wanted to protect it - photographing kids around splashing water etc. The Bokeh this lens provides is second to none - close to my FE Zeiss 55F18.... for portrait photography again with Face Detection active it's amazing. Even at a 100% Crop the sharpness is just incredible.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

20

1

0

Great all round lens.

SELP18105G 06 June 2017 by Eric 39 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is an excellent all round lens, as I suffer with arthritis the power zoom function is ideal as I have difficulty twisting the zoom ring. I have only had the lens for approx. two weeks so have not been able to fully realise all it's potential but so far results for photos and video are excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Best value native zoom bar none

SELP18105G 06 June 2017 by Krav (USA)

Pros: Good focal length range Constant f4 is a joy Sufficient sharpness for most situations Focusing speed not bad, silent too Cons: A bit heavy for all day shooting Slight vignette & distortion on extreme ends Slow start-up, so keep it on standby for street & events

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Nice lens for everyday use!

SELP18105G 02 June 2017 by Eddie2k2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Beautiful lens, 18-105 what I need most everyday use, sharp and quit for video power zoon in and out. F4 all focal length. Great quality photo and video.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0