FE 85mm F1.8

Product Reviews

31

4.9 based on 31 customer reviews

28
3
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

31 Customer Reviews

0

Great Portrait Lens

SEL85F18 SYX 07 September 2019 by W C Tan

The prime 85mm lens is considered optimal focal length for portrait and head shots. This 1.8mm lens is light weight, the optical quality and field depth do not disappoint given the lower price than f1.4 GM version as shown on the below images taken at night time under indoor lighting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens!

SEL85F18 SYX 26 August 2019 by ringme5am

Love the depth of field this lens gives. great for photos and videos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

OUTSTANDING Len for its price-point

SEL85F18 SYX 18 August 2019 by WayneLLC

I have bought this Len just about 3 weeks ago and it has been my go-to Len due to its form factor / weight and how accurate and interesting it renders an imagery. The shots were just so sharp with buttery bokeh and very quick to focus that it is so intriguing how much this costed. This may be a similar purchase consideration for some of you out there... As a trinity GM owner, I did find myself pondering back and forth, if I should buy this since I already have 85mm covered and primarily I don't exactly do portrait (being a Landscape-first guy) - But i am really glad to have push through with the purchase. The aforementioned merits of the Len really made me a very happy shooter and has renewed my creativity-flow.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Lightweight & Excellent optics

SEL85F18 SYX 11 July 2019 by _rnzw_

Bought this lens for its weight and although it is not in the Zeiss or G-master range, the optics is still excellent. It gives me a nice reproduction of sharpness that I am looking for. It is a value for money lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent sharpness

SEL85F18 SYX 10 July 2019 by MavWee

Bought this recently, and cannot be amazed enough with the sharpness and the compactness of the lens as well as fast and accurate AF. Given the price, it is really value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great bokeh!

SEL85F18 SYX 09 July 2019

I bought this last month and i'm in love with it. My pictures are super sharp and produce a very nice bokeh. Really recommended for portraiture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features and value for money

SEL85F18 SYX 17 June 2019 by 85mm Value for money

Couple with A7III with the price you pay, it is as good as it get compared to GM lens. Bokeh, sharpness and auto focus is excellent!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Lens

SEL85F18 SYX 09 June 2019 by J McG

I'm really happy with the clarity and sharpness of this lens. It fits my needs exactly for the type of portraits I like to take. Especially Street and low light shots.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Budget 85mm that’s on par with more expensive tier

SEL85F18 SYX 20 May 2019 by Kunioo

Not yet using the newly bought 85mm f/1.8 extensively. Autofocus is fast, images are sharp and get super sharp by 1 or 2 click stop down, bokeh is creamy and very good build quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features , value for money

SEL85F18 SYX 13 May 2019

Very happy with the focal length and speed of the lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small form factor and very sharp

SEL85F18 SYX 17 March 2019 by juan2888

I bought the 85 1.8 and not the 85 1.4 GM from positive reviews around the world. Haven’t tried the 1.4 GM but am loving this lens. It’s super light weight and works a treat with my A7M3.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony FE 85mm F1.8

SEL85F18 SYX 28 February 2019 by Adry Azri

There is absolutely nothing negative to say about the Sony 85mm F/1.8 . It is a fantastic lens at a very reasonable Price. Sharp and lightweight lens overall i love it and looking forward to purchase another good lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony 85 F1.8 FR

SEL85F18 SYX 06 January 2019 by Kelvin G

Great picture quality and size of len !!! Beautiful bokeh.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Nice Bokeh

SEL85F18 SYX 30 December 2018 by AlvinLim

I use it with my a6000, taking with F1.8, nice bokeh. but it is difficult to use when the background is too bright.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Light and Sharp !

SEL85F18 SYX 20 December 2018 by abhipro

Excellent sharpness and great Sony colours ! Great for Potraits and street photography !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good Value

SEL85F18 SYX 20 December 2018 by Earl Of Atlantis

Bought this after reading reviews and recommendations. Best value for money lens for me so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens. Great Price

SEL85F18 SYX 24 November 2018 by ziggyzag

Bought it about 5 weeks ago and absolutely no regrets. Sharp, quick AF, light, small, and great price.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superior optical quality at a affordable price

SEL85F18 SYX 21 October 2018 by AbrasiveWaif

When attached to the third generation Alpha 7 camera series, the focusing is fast and accurate. Sharp images with high resolution from this lens. Need features like the AF/MF toggle switch and the AF button. Very light and compact. Highly recommended

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

This is the 2nd one I bought - I like it that much

SEL85F18 SYX 17 October 2018 by Keithtty

For the size, the performance is really good. I’m not sure how much performance improvement 1.4 would get me. From sharpness perspective, this is excellent to me, so the only other thing might be bokeh? I don’t want to carry that additional weight for that. :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Unbeliveably sharp lens!

SEL85F18 SYX 03 October 2018

85mm primes are always appealing for portrait shots, but using it as an everyday lens gives you a new fun to the shots you take. You can shoot it even as a street photography and being at a distance while still being discreet lol.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp lens and beautiful Bokeh!

SEL85F18 SYX 26 June 2018 by Remoh

i bought the lens a month ago at Sony wisma and very happy with the pictures! great lens!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features at a reasonable price point

SEL85F18 SYX 11 May 2018 by Canon switcher

The optics of this lens is fantastic. Works really well with the Sony A7III

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent portrait lens

SEL85F18 SYX 09 February 2018 by cyrilng

This lens is light, compact, fast, bright and gives excellent results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very sharp lens

SEL85F18 SYX 20 December 2017 by trixqq

Useful lens for portraits! Quick and fast lens. Lighter than the 1.4 GM

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0