HDR-AS50 ACTION CAM

Product Reviews

15

4.7 based on 15 customer reviews

10
5
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

15 Customer Reviews

0

Great little camera and value for money...

Body + Waterproof Case 11 July 2018

This is a nice little action camera with tons of useful features. Low light performance could be better.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Superb performance at a reasonable price

Body + Waterproof Case 10 July 2018 by RSBJr

I bought this for my scuba diving adventure and have no regrets. I had taken nice video footage even on my night dives!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Cheap and met my requirement!

Body + Waterproof Case 02 April 2017

Used it to film my badminton game, image quality is sharp even at bad lighting

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Most value for money action cam!

Body + Waterproof Case 02 February 2017 by icysamur

Hubby and I were planning a trip to Boracay and we decided to get scuba diving licences while we were there. Just 2 days before the trip we realised that we didn't have any underwater camera that can capture the scuba experience. The moment we saw the camera in the store we liked it so much because of its tiny compact design. Setting up the camera is fairly simple. It doesn't come with a live view remote but you can easily connect it to your smartphone using the PlayMemories Mobile app. Charging only works through an activated laptop USB or power bank but I guess there are external battery chargers available for charging through AC or car outlets. Our scuba instructor saw the underwater videos and said that the quality was as good as some of the 4K cams he had seen. And the fact that it works upto 60m of depth underwater is really amazing! Overall an excellent buy and it's cheaper than most of the action cams in the market.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features

Body + Waterproof Case 25 December 2016

Good action camera , function very easy to use and many great features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Handy

Body + Waterproof Case 01 September 2016

Same battery as my RX100M4. Best in class charger too. Works perfectly using PlayMemories

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome Quality!

Body + Waterproof Case 26 August 2016 by DetFizZ

Currently used as Travel Camera, the AS50 Action Camera does pretty decent job at creating superb quality images. Its SteadyShot feature creates minimum shakes & blurs for videos. For its price & features, its recommend for basic & starters. Time-Lapse feature is also user-friendly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

perfect for my lifestyle

Body + Waterproof Case 25 August 2016 by mojojo68

have been trying out the features. impress by the outcome. definitely will use it for my upcoming trip to iceland. cant wait for it

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Best DEAL

Body + Waterproof Case 08 August 2016 by wen bin

No words to describe this product. Excellent for travel

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Worth every penny

Body + Waterproof Case 08 July 2016 by gvnmorris

Got this few months back and it's really worth it.. For the price, image quality is good and videos are good too... Colors are well balanced as well. Lacks free "Action Cam" stickers though... Sony, if you're reading this, please mail me some? Thanks!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Compact and simple to use

Body + Waterproof Case 07 July 2016 by Lawrence CRH

I use this as a general video camera rather than as an action cam because it is more portable than a full fledged video cam. The battery capacity is just right for me to record a long meeting (1 hr plus) and the wide angle lens is great for use in a room. Being small it's also less conspicuous. The stereo audio recording is definitely good enough for speech quality recording.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good performer for its price!

Body + Waterproof Case 19 April 2016 by Musician_ZJ

I use this as a safety camera on my bike. So the size and weight really appealed to me. At its price point, I am happy with the video quality and features. Pros: - Great video quality at 1080p. - Friendly interface on the camera. - Longer battery life than previous models. - Small size and light weight. - Comes with the dive case. - Finally comes in black color. - Standard 1/4 threading available without the use of an adaptor. Cons - Not splash proof. - USB connector should be made to withstand dust and water without a cap so people can connect to a power bank for extended runs. - Audio quality suffers as the mic picks up too much ambient noise. - Camera gets pretty hot after a while. - Hard lens protector is sold separately. - Battery life needs to be further improved. - Sony sold mountings aren't as sexy or durable as the camera itself, which is a big shame. Side note, the PlayMemories app is useful to control the camera, but the interface needs to be more intuitive and that ugly icon needs to be redesigned.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

excellent stabilization

Body + Waterproof Case 04 April 2016 by TT23

Pros: relatively cheap compared to other brands for same feature set. Stabilization is good. Menu is user friendly. Cons: Flimsy covers for all ports. Only one accessory given, which is the waterproof cover. Microphone sound capture is a bit weak.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony - HDR-AS50 Action Cam

Body + Waterproof Case 03 April 2016 by CYEAP

It is has a great video in full HD. However, 2 to 2.5 hours battery life may not enough for recording. Also not able to recoding during charging. May need to improve this feature.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Awesomeness.

Body + Waterproof Case 25 March 2016 by Draven

Love the sleek design, compact, shoot full HD, easy to use, great sound, great price point with great features and overall great action camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0