Skip to Content
17

4.2 based on 17 customer reviews

7
8
0
2
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Most Helpful Positive
0

Compact, Sharp and Versatile Camera!

DSC-RX100M5 E32 06 November 2016 by Na wen

I bought this camera after reviewing (like weight, viewfinder, focusing speed, flash, aperture size, shutter speed...) various options available till date and extremely satisfied with camera and specially with focusing speed and photo+video quality. Purpose for me buying this camera is for travel and better dynamic control, it replaces my heavy lens mount camera and pocketable smartphone. After installing Sony Playmemories Mobile App, I am surprised that touch focus is available through smartphone and then there is another camera application "Touchless Shutter App (Beta)" it allows me to operate shutter (including Bulb mode) without touching the camera.. Also, I would recommend to visit website https://www.playmemoriescameraapps.com for camera applications available.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good camera but user interface improvement needed

DSC-RX100M5 E32 18 April 2017 by encore

I bought the camera for 1. Compact for travelling. 2. View finder for taking pictures in the bright outdoor. 3. Continuous auto-focus and burst shoot for action photography. 4. DSLR like features. 4. Awesome reviews. I have yet to fully realize the power of the camera. But already have some complaints: 1. The compact body does make it difficult to grip, and it can drop quite easily. 2. The menu system is badly organised. It is hard to identify for a feature which of the six categories it should fall under, so I have to search each and every page of every category for that feature, and that is very tedious. 3. There isn't sufficient instructions of the features, and it seems that one must pay to obtain more detailed manuals. 4. The Control wheel can adjust both Aperture and Shutter, while the Control ring can only adjust Aperture. Yet the UW casing cannot reach the Control dial. Think Sony should make the control ring capable of doing both. This will make the camera a truly UW gem. 5. It lacks time lapse photography. A paid app is available but it is slow to use, and can only take up to 1920x1080 pixel pictures, and the pictures are only visible within the app. I am however satisfied with the camera overall, especially the fact that it is capable of firmware upgrade. A recent upgrade delivered a feature that should have been there day one, and that is the ability the disable the flash even with it pop up. Another useful upgrade is the addition of AWB underwater, which I am yet to try

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

17 Customer Reviews

0

Good skin colour everytime

DSC-RX100M5 E32 09 November 2017 by Limkh

Bought on 19Oct, used thrice. I find the selfie mode nice with the flip up monitor. Facial size is not distorted. Skin tones are much better than cell phone quality (do not have dark shadows).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great compact camera

DSC-RX100M5 E32 12 July 2017 by siongvia

The camera is great in terms of photography and videography. However, it would be even better if there's no overheat issue while taking 4K video. And "Steady shot" is not available while shooting in 4K video, what a let down.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Camera Performance

DSC-RX100M5 E32 20 June 2017 by Fat Man

The image quality is good. Perhaps due to its small size, the camera could easily shake during full pressing the shot button.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Best Point and Shoot Camera Out There

DSC-RX100M5 E32 14 June 2017 by stripedshirt

Best thing since touch screen phones! The RX100M5 is a pleasure to shoot with and because of its size, it's always with me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Excellent underwater camera when used with housing

DSC-RX100M5 E32 05 June 2017 by LWC Diver

Used with Sony Underwater Housing MPK-URX100A, took great pictures down to 22 meters with only built-in flash. Underwater Automatic White Balance struggled a bit to get the right colors. Some reds still managed to be captured. Focus was fast and excellent, same for exposure control.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

great camera

DSC-RX100M5 E32 27 April 2017 by sengkkk

bought it for nepal trekking, wasn't disappointed!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Good camera but user interface improvement needed

DSC-RX100M5 E32 18 April 2017 by encore

I bought the camera for 1. Compact for travelling. 2. View finder for taking pictures in the bright outdoor. 3. Continuous auto-focus and burst shoot for action photography. 4. DSLR like features. 4. Awesome reviews. I have yet to fully realize the power of the camera. But already have some complaints: 1. The compact body does make it difficult to grip, and it can drop quite easily. 2. The menu system is badly organised. It is hard to identify for a feature which of the six categories it should fall under, so I have to search each and every page of every category for that feature, and that is very tedious. 3. There isn't sufficient instructions of the features, and it seems that one must pay to obtain more detailed manuals. 4. The Control wheel can adjust both Aperture and Shutter, while the Control ring can only adjust Aperture. Yet the UW casing cannot reach the Control dial. Think Sony should make the control ring capable of doing both. This will make the camera a truly UW gem. 5. It lacks time lapse photography. A paid app is available but it is slow to use, and can only take up to 1920x1080 pixel pictures, and the pictures are only visible within the app. I am however satisfied with the camera overall, especially the fact that it is capable of firmware upgrade. A recent upgrade delivered a feature that should have been there day one, and that is the ability the disable the flash even with it pop up. Another useful upgrade is the addition of AWB underwater, which I am yet to try

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Easy to use and compact

DSC-RX100M5 E32 29 March 2017

I bought it a few weeks ago and it is very easy to use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best Compact for Travel

DSC-RX100M5 E32 17 March 2017 by Chow CP

Good image quality, raw files are very "process-able", compact, very fast auto-focus (compared to III, which I used to have). Battery life is not as bad as the specs mentioned, you can always work with a spare battery and this unit charges with microUSB directly in-camera. Only con is the price, but you get what you paid for.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Slow and low battery

DSC-RX100M5 E32 17 February 2017 by leecs0123

Its suprise me that the battery drain out super fast. I had to carry 3 battery for my normal usage. Besides, it not good to take photos of motion such as people shaking hand without a flash under room lighting. Hence it is slow for my own understanding.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

RX100 V review

DSC-RX100M5 E32 25 January 2017 by Tracce

I bought this camera about a 10 days ago. I'm still trying to figure things out on my camera. The main purpose of me buying this camera is for work and for my everyday use. Whenever I head out I'll use it to capture something that inspires me and I'll post it on my blog. At the moment, the pictures turn out great. It could be better if I can learn to use the functions more. I'm loving every bit of it. But I do have one feedback for it. I've purchased the cover for it. I wish that it can be improved. As it is a hassle trying to remove the top layer of the cover whenever I wish to take a picture. Also, the cover is not very appealing, however, I had not much a choice but to buy it due to me being reckless

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Awesome Camera

DSC-RX100M5 E32 18 January 2017 by Realyn

Really nice for a point and shoot camera. .... Recommended cam

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

4k video, slog2, superb HFS. Yet...

DSC-RX100M5 E32 17 January 2017 by Clementoh

I have use rx100v for the past 2weeks now, what a joy to carry small yet powerful little machine. There are many reviews online, all of their experiences and thoughts are true. Photo quality is top in the game, wish there's a faster lens on it as having narrow depth of field doesn't come easy. ISO performance exceed my expectation, even work well in hfs video at iso1600. But i have major complains on the built. Firstly, the bottom mount is basically useless or astonishing inconvenience. If you wish to mount a tripod plate in it, be prepared not ever to open the sd/battery cap unless you remove the plate. This should be addressed in the next generation, does not put up a good reputation on the design architecture team. Next is the flip up screen. Flipping the screen up for selfie, part of the screen will be blocked by the body itself. You will not be able to see most of the important parameters like aperture, shutter speed and ISO. And of course, like the rest of the world, i wish it could have been touch screen for the cost that i am paying. That's about all from me, thanks Sony for this wonderful product and also the awesome community.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

RX100V

DSC-RX100M5 E32 09 January 2017 by gerabubble

Awesome pocket camera. So much fun, so many options , took me a while to learn them, still have more to learn but i dont have to wait till im free to play with it, its with me all day so at every chance i get, i break it out to practice

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Small and Powerful

DSC-RX100M5 E32 18 December 2016 by kelsimplified

I'm glad that I bought this little friend. It is with me, anywhere I go, just like my phone. So far so good. Can't think of any serious flaws. The only complain is that there are too many features packed into it. Really need to take time to learn.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

It's a little MONSTER

DSC-RX100M5 E32 06 November 2016 by Chan SL

I thought I bought a machine gun, the speed is just amazing. It's too fast sometimes, just press and released and got me 10+ shots. Hope that the next firmware update can add a setting to choose the frame rate.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Compact, Sharp and Versatile Camera!

DSC-RX100M5 E32 06 November 2016 by Na wen

I bought this camera after reviewing (like weight, viewfinder, focusing speed, flash, aperture size, shutter speed...) various options available till date and extremely satisfied with camera and specially with focusing speed and photo+video quality. Purpose for me buying this camera is for travel and better dynamic control, it replaces my heavy lens mount camera and pocketable smartphone. After installing Sony Playmemories Mobile App, I am surprised that touch focus is available through smartphone and then there is another camera application "Touchless Shutter App (Beta)" it allows me to operate shutter (including Bulb mode) without touching the camera.. Also, I would recommend to visit website https://www.playmemoriescameraapps.com for camera applications available.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0